The non-smoking contract with myself!

Image

 

Quitting smoking is like riding a roller coaster, but blindfolded and without a seat belt. You never know whats going to happen next. It throws you from left to right and all you can do is trying to hang on and you try not to lose the grip! Let’s face it….quitting smoking is harder than I thought it would be!

I am very serious…I don’t want to smoke anymore, but the constant voice in my head telling me”just one would be OK” is not going to shut up any time soon. This voice is tricky, it’s not there all the time, Smokey, my invisible friend, takes naps and is quit, but then out of the blue he starts talking again.

Some webpages recommended to write a non-smoking contract with myself! How silly is that? But somehow the thought got stuck in my mind and I started typing. “Who in the right state of mind does something like that”? I hesitated to print it. A “non smoking contract” with myself, signed by me, even if I am the only one knowing about it, it’s still serious enough to bother me.

I try to keep promises and it’s hunting me if I can’t, so breaking my own contract would bother me, as silly as it might sound. Well, the way I look at it, this fight against Smokey is not over yet and I will need all the help I can get to win it! Will the fight ever be over?

So I started typing, I printed it and it’s still on my desk!

         Quit Smoking Contract with myself

 

I hereby commit to stop smoking. This may be one of the greatest challenges I have ever faced, but I also acknowledge it will be one of the most effective things I can do for myself and my health.

 

I will sign this contract and will make the commitment to myself to live a smoke free life. I will succeed, I will protect my quit, my health and my future! I am strong and I can achieve my goal to become a son smoker “unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow”.

 

I quit smoking on February 3rd, 2014

 

My main reasons are:


1. I don’t like smoking anymore
2. I want to be healthier
3. I want to stop coughing


I will reward myself:


1. After one week – my reward will be a new Orchid.

2. After one month -my reward will be special Dinner in a nice restaurant.

3. After three months -my reward will be new running shoes and a fanny pack.
4. After six months -my reward will be
5. After one year -my reward will be a special weekend with my husband.


The contract is with myself, I will sign it and I will print it and look at it during temptations. I will read it and remind myself that I don’t want to smoke anymore.

Signature

 

Hallelujah, it’s official…I have lost all my marbles, so it seems!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

