Sniff…Sniff, because now I can!

 a110-dog-sniffing-clipart

Nosey Delights

We were sitting in the living room watching TV and all of a sudden I smelled something. It smelled good, a mix of fragrances that I could not identify. I was holding my nose in the air, trying to find the source of the smell.

I told my husband “something smells so good” and he just looked at me “OK, what is it”.

“Well, I don’t know, but it’s yummy”.

I got up and tried to find the source, the smell was everywhere, I just couldn’t figure out what it was. I sat back down and it just didn’t leave me alone. One of the dogs made a noise and I turned around; all of a sudden the smell hit me again and it was very intense. A smell sensation for my nose and then I realized…it was me. I smelled so good…seriously!

I started to “sniff” my clothes, my hands, and my arm. My husband just looked at me “what are you doing?”

“Well, isn’t that obvious? I sniff myself”

He looked at me in disbelieve, “You do what?”

I looked at him and asked, “Have I always smelled that good?” I could smell the laundry softener, a fresh scent of lavender that I love. My hands and arms smelled clean and fresh, with a scent of lemongrass. “Isn’t that my body lotion?” “Why do I smell so good?” I asked in disbelieve. My husband just shook his head -we are married since a long time and it seems nothing surprises him anymore 🙂

The next day I went to the Quit-smoking-message-board and found the answer. No, I wasn’t losing my last marble at all, this was a normal reaction.

I just had given up smoking for a few weeks and I could smell better than before. Everything was a new sensation…still is.

By now I stopped sniffing myself, but I still like to explore new smells that have been hiding behind a cloud of smoke for 35 years. So my favorite “smell” is me and as much as I hate to admit it, this is a true story 🙂

9 thoughts on “Sniff…Sniff, because now I can!

  1. Pingback: The Best Quit Smoking Blogs 2017 | The happy Quitter!

    • It was comical, like something you would see on “I love Lucy”. I never thought that my sense of smell or taste was in any way compromised by my smoking habit. I was always a smell person, I lite these melting wax thingies all the time :-). After I stopped smoking I was almost killed by Wasabi (different story) and every smell is more intense (although the bad ones). My sense of taste and smell changed and the most ex-smokers will agree. You will see for yourself one day 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Nosey Delights. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

