My Addiction Manifesto

Daily prompt / Manifesto

 

I don’t know it all -who does-  but I learned a thing or two when I gave up smoking. I am not sure if it’s good enough to be called “a Manifesto”, but I wish I would have had these instructions when I run blindly into becoming a quitter. A happy quitter now, but a confused quitter at the beginning.

I remember my reaction when somebody called me an addict for the first time “how dare you?” I am not an addict, I am just a smoker -no, not the BBQ-grill; the other one, the one with a cigarette in my hand. Slowly it sunk in, I was addicted to Nicotine. Smoking is an addiction, not just a bad habit.

Here are my 2-cent’s-worth on addiction:

 

Addiction-Manifesto

  • Avoid situations you know you cannot handle.
  • Alter your response – change the flavor of your coffee, sit in a different room, meet your friends in a neutral (non-smoking/ non-drinking environment).
  • Accept that some days will be tougher, and that by sticking it out you will get stronger.
  • Believe in yourself….you can do this!
  • Behave! You don’t have to be a total brat….giving up an addictive substance is not going to kill you, so stop whining!
  • Breath! An easy way to relax, deep breathing.
  • Cope with it and write down how you feel; for Heaven’s sake -start blogging!
  • Calm down. There is no reason to panic you don’t need a drink, or cigarettes or a pill.

Delay your next craving for as long as possible:

  • Distract yourself – keeping busy is extremely important. Go for a walk, or pull out your guitar, listen to music, sing or dance! Talk to your friends, let them be part of your journey.
  • Don’t lie about it, tell people the truth.
  • Baby-steps…First minutes, then hours, then days.

 

Emergency Coping Plan:

AVOID the situation
Identify the situations when you normally smoke or drink, or feel cravings. For most, high-risk situations include work breaks, finishing meals, having coffee or being in a bar. Plan how you will avoid these situations for a few weeks. Plan for alternate activities.

LEAVE the situation
If you find yourself in one of these high risk situations, leave if you can. And, leave before you get an overwhelming craving.

DISTRACT yourself from the craving
If you find yourself in a situation and you can’t leave, distract yourself from the craving by: Thinking about something else, like your Benefits of Quitting (or how much money you’re saving every week, how your body is healing itself). Doing something else to distract yourself like drinking water or deep breathing exercises. Thinking about an upcoming event in your life, such as a vacation. Think about the people you love and how much they care about you!

DELAY acting on the craving
If you can’t keep your mind off it, then make a deal with yourself that you will wait 15 minutes before you give into the craving. The craving will usually pass in a couple of minutes anyway. If you delay, the craving will go away.

Use SELF TALK 
A craving may be accompanied by negative thoughts about your ability to resist it. Use positive self talk statements to combat your negative thoughts. Talk loud if you have to and reward yourself, be kind to yourself!

 

itwillhurt

13 thoughts on “My Addiction Manifesto

  1. Pingback: We can make a Difference! | The happy Quitter!

  2. i avoided reading this section of yours before because i wasn’t ready to quit. now i’m gearing up for surgery & am taking advantage of my 2-day smoke-free hospital stay to quit, coming home to a smoke-free house. i have no doubt this time i will succeed, and your blog is part of my success plan! Thanks for all of this for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: “Foolish Compassion” – The 19th of September 1993 – Harrisburg, Pennsylvania | Forgotten Correspondence

  4. It is an excellent and worthwhile document, B. It would be an even better manifesto if it were written in terms of being your determinations, you know …?
    “I will avoid situations I know I can’t handle;
    I will alter my response – change the flavor of my coffee, sit in a different room, meet my friends in a neutral (non-smoking/ non-drinking environment).
    I accept that some days will be tougher, and that by sticking it out I will get stronger”
    and so on.
    However, who gives a shit ?! – there it all is, and whether it is a perfect example of a manifesto is totally unimportant. It’s what you did and what you advise others to do; and what could be better ?! 🙂

    Like

    • You are right M-R, but I didn’t want to write it for “just” me. I don’t need it anymore, I am over all those cravings, but a lot of my followers and readers just quit a few days/weeks ago and I thought it might help them. I do wish I would have had it written to just me when I quit smoking.

      Like

      • So how terrific a thing is your blog ?! It’s pretty damned marvellous to be there to give others so much positive help, you know. Well done you !!! 🙂

        Like

  5. I found your blog just in time! I plan to quit smoking again very soon. It will be my sixth or so attempt *sigh* I am so nervous and afraid to fail again but I really do want to quit. I’ve been smoking since I was 15 (I’m 29 now) and last time I quit I realized I just didn’t know how to handle anything in life without a cigarette! I’m bookmarking this post in the hopes that it will help me soon in a time of need, thank you 🙂

    Like

    • You are very young, that’s good. I started smoking when I was 15 and quit 35 years later, you don’t want that. Do it now, if you don’t mind me saying it. Although, don’t do it alone, it’s easier when you have somebody cheering for you. I am here, if you need help, just let me know -but I am a pain in the behind :-). Although check out some of the support boards, I went to http://www.quittrain.com (I am not there anymore). It helped me so much during the first weeks. If you go to the quittrain, just introduce yourself and you can say Ladybug send you, they might treat you harder then (grin). Quit…don’t waste time, because there really never is the “right time” to quit…like ever 🙂

      Like

    • Tell her “Hi” from the Happy Quitter. Tell her not to do it alone -not if she don’t have to. I would really recommend a support board for quitters/ex-smokers. I would recommend http://www.quittrain.com. I joined a board right from the start and I think it kept me sane and kept my husband alive lol. I hope you don’t mind me writing this!

      Like

Leave a Reply

