Not too bad for a woman….seriously?

481749_509229402428324_1845161828_n

Daily prompt

What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? 

“Well, not too bad for a woman” whenever I hear that, I just flinch inside, shake my head in disbelieve and roll my eyes in lightning speed.

What does it actually mean? Is is suppose to be a compliment? “Not too bad for a woman” sounds like a statement of surprise rather then a compliment.

I heard it so often in my  life. I am a woman and I love everything about it…BUT I am although a handy little bugger and can help myself. That doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the help from a man (my man) and it doesn’t mean I won’t ask for help. It means I am aware of my physical limitations and I am fully aware of being a woman. I know I might be not able to lift and move 200 lbs, but I will find a way to get it done…just stay back and watch me.

“Not too bad for a woman” is the worst compliment there is.

 

 woman

5 thoughts on “Not too bad for a woman….seriously?

  1. “Not too bad for a woman” sounds awful!!!… I think the worst compliment I have received as a woman was: “She speaks too much, no wonder why she is a woman”… (speaking too much was there related to saying nonsense which was clearly not the case!).

    Great post, thanks for sharing and best wishes to you, Aquileana:)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. I completely agree. I also heard it quite often… And on the other hand I hear stuff like “Oh, but you don’t look like a female software engineer.” Great as well. It’s like “For a software engineer you don’t look that bad.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

