A break after magic…

images (39)

…but not for long, just for a little while. Maybe a few days, maybe a few weeks or months. I just read a book,”No”… let me rephrase this. I just finished reading an awesome book. A while back I walked through our grocery store and there was a pile of books for $2, just the right thing for a bargain hunter like me. I didn’t expect to find anything interesting there. I mean “really, what can you expect for just $2”, nothing more than maybe a few coffee table books for last minute Christmas presents. Oh, do I like to be wrong!

At home I started looking at my finds and one book got my attention. I decided to give it a try…and started reading it. Right from the start I realized I was holding a treasure in my hands.

Oh my Goodness..what a book it was. “The Hummingbird’s daughter” by Luis Alberto Urrea. It’s not just a book, or a good read…it is simply amazing and I loved it. Urrea’s writing is fantastic almost like poetry. It was such a delicious surprise to be able to read a fresh, crisp and truly 3-dimensional story. The pace is good, quick-moving, and never stalls. The character development is extraordinary; there are some truly unforgettable people in this tale. I have never heard of this author before, but now he has another fan and I will read more books written by him. As a matter of fact, I am going to read them all.

download (21)

Overall, this book is “magical” and I can’t begin to express my love for it. It is truly a great story. I cannot recommend this book enough, to anybody who likes to curl up in a chair and just wants to read something extraordinary.

Whenever I finish a book like that -what doesn’t happen too often- that’s when I need a break from reading.

Why? Because a book like this deserves it. It deserves my attention for a little while longer. It deserves me thinking about the story and the wonderful character a little bit more.

Although, the next book there in our bookcase deserves a fair chance and if I would start reading it right away…well, it wouldn’t be fair.

So, I am taking a break after magic.

Daily prompt

What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without reading a book (since learning how to read, of course)? Which book was it that helped break the dry spell?

stephen-king-quotes-books-are-a-uniquely-portable-magic

8 thoughts on “A break after magic…

Leave a Reply

