New Years Resolutions and a Happy New Year

happy new year 2015

The year is almost over, some of my readers will welcome the New Year already tonight. Making New Years resolutions is a tradition for many of us. By the end of a year we make a list with things that we want to change in the new year. 

Quit smoking is high up on the new years resolutions lists. It’s a proven fact that most of the smokers think about quitting, sometimes even for years, before they actually quit. Lots of smokers feel guilty about smoking.

It was on my list last year, for the very first time. Not as a resolution, but as a goal for the year 2014. I never really start my “resolutions” on January 1st. I watched too many people fail miserably, just after a few days.

new-years-resolution-list

I never quit before, never even tried. For years I just watched friends of mine trying to quit, with whatever “help” they thought they would need. Most of them tried either gum or patches containing nicotine. The most of these NRT’s (nicotine replacement therapies) didn’t make any sense to me. Nicotine is what smokers are actually addicted to, so why prolong the torture with the intake of a lesser amount of Nicotine? The withdrawal lasts only 3 days, so why suffer longer?

The most of my friends, actually all of them, besides one, spent lots of money on patches, gums and other stuff and they all still smoke to this day. The only one who stayed quit was the one who went cold turkey. So cold turkey was the way I wanted to go as well…and so I did.

This all seems so far away now. It’s going to be 11 months on January 3rd. Quitting wasn’t as hard as I expected it to be, it was very easy for me. I smoked my last cigarette and walked away. A few days here and there with some tough moments, but nothing unbearable.

I did sign up at a quit smoking forum, what can be found >>>here<<< and the interaction with other former smokers made it even easier. I wasn’t the only one, there were others. Lot’s of things were explained and the whole experience was really helpful. I saw different faces of the nicotine addiction. Some people had to fight so hard and I was wondering why. Why could I just walk away after 35 years, why was it so easy for me? Why did others had to suffer so much? Why did some relapse over and over?

I believe it has to do with our mindset. If we really and truly want something, than we will go for it…at all cost. I was done with smoking way before I smoked the last one. My “habit” bothered me for months and my cough was a daily reminder about the harm I did to myself. I wanted to change this about me. No “ifs” and not “buts”.

There is no magic trick. Nothing makes it really easy, sooner or later you will have to face a life without nicotine. You might as well rip the bandaid fast.

Do you really want to quit smoking? Are you really done with it? Done and over? Then you will be just fine. Put it on your New Years resolution and go for it. I will be more than happy to help.

I am not one of those ex-smokers who preach to others about quitting. I don’t  condemn smoking. I did it for 35 years and I don’t have regrets. It was my decision to smoke and it was my decision to quit. It’s as simple as that in my opinion.

May this new year all your dreams turn into

reality and all your efforts into great achievements

I wish all of my readers and followers a very Happy New Year 2015.

5 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions and a Happy New Year

  1. 🙂 I think your mindset has to really want to quite before quitting as you said.. I know my hubby quit just like that after nearly 30 years of smoking… He’s been quit now some 20 yrs… and so dislikes being in smokers company now..

    Good Luck with all of your New Years Goals.. and wishing you and Yours a Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are just so sweet. I always look forward to your comments. I was writing a post for my kitchen blog when I hear your comment coming in. Thank you 🙂

      I wish you and your family a very Happy New Year! Thank you so much for following me, it’s a real pleasure and honor 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nooo…. to honor means I am something special.. We are all of us special.. All of us making a better world..

        So pleased to have crossed your path.. and I hope to visit often in 2015… but I come and go especially in the Summer.. as I am busy in the garden more.. You will get used to my comings and goings LOL.. In the mean time.. Enjoy NEW YEAR.. Be Happy.. and Enjoy loved ones…
        Bless you ..
        Sue xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

