And then it is almost winter…

Almost-winter

It seems like just yesterday that I was young, just married and embarking on my new life with my husband. It feels like yesterday, but in a way it seems like a billion years ago. Sometimes I lean back and wonder where all the years went.

Now and then I catch a glimpse of how it was back then and remember all my hopes and big dreams. How did it happen, that I am one of the older folks now? And, when did I start saying things like “back then?” Time is a fascinating thing…it has a way of moving quickly and catching you unaware of the passing years. So many years between ‘back then’ and now. Where did all those years go? I know I lived them all and lived them well.

If life would it be counted in seasons, then I am in autumn right now and winter is just around the corner. Time to deck the halls so to speak :-). It makes me think about the winter of my life and it catches me by surprise…it will be here so fast? Where did my youth go? I remember looking at older people, thinking that those years are far away from me and just the thought was so far off, that I couldn’t even imagine fully what it would be like.

Now, I look at my friends and some of them are already really close to retirement. All the man have gray hair or are snow-white like my husband. We women are lucky and most of us have our gray hair hidden under the color of our choice. When did we start to compare our daily vitamins? When did health became one of our main subjects at get-togethers?

Some of us are in better shape than others. You hear things like “you still look good?” and I start to dislike the word “still” more and more. It sounds like I am suppose to fall apart any day now. Well, in a sense we do…we all see changes. Age is beginning to show and we start to become those older folks, that we used to see and never thought we once would be.

Winter is just around the corner. A good friend will retire in April and I realize, that even though she is 10 years older, I will be there myself in just a few years. Time goes by faster when you get older. One year is nothing and over in just a blink of an eye…so it seems.

So, I am trying to prepare us for the next upcoming season. I look at my bucket list and believe it or not, some things are on it since almost 20 years and I still haven’t done it. I think that’s why somebody suggested we should all start having a fuck-it list as well :-).

Sometimes I wonder how long autumn and winter will last, but I try not to. I look at everything new as an adventure. There are many things I have done and I feel very happy about it. I don’t have any regrets, but some things I wish I wouldn’t have done. Smoking is one of them now. I remember a conversation with a good friend of mine, who asked me to give up smoking way back then…when I was still in my 20’s. I just laughed at him…there was so much time left to worry about that. I enjoyed it, so why would I quit. I enjoyed it for 30 more years. This enjoyment comes with a price. My long time smoking gave me some health problems and adjusting to it was a challenge…still is.

So, if you’re not in your autumn yet…let me remind you, that it will be here faster than you think. Whatever you would like to accomplish in your life, please do it! Don’t put things off too long!

Life goes by quickly. Do what you can today, as you can never be sure whether this is already your winter or not! There is no promise that we all will see all the seasons.

So, I guess what I am trying to say to all of you, who are now enjoying spring and summer…stop smoking when you think my age is eons away.

age old heart quotes images

10 thoughts on “And then it is almost winter…

  1. The image of the hoar frost grabbed me at once and I was hooked 😉 Beautiful post. Autumn is also where I am at, and fortunately I gave up the cigarettes when I was 20 also for health issues (asthma). Totally understand the “back then” and the theory of relativity – sometimes decades seem like days and days seem like decades. Mostly I feel like Rip Van Winkle, wondering where the time went and how life got so crazy when it should be slowing down. Fortunately autumn is my favourite time of year. Trying to savour the season before it’s gone! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is interesting to see how people and landscapes change as time goes by… The seasonal approach is very nice and it made me think that Life is cyclical somehow.
    Great post Lady… Thanks for sharing and sending love to you 😎 Aquileana 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, this is an intense but also inspirational post. I am approaching this end of summer, no actually I feel autumn is here already too. Darn it all!! And I was so careful to watch the years going by but they do slip between one’s fingers no matter how hard you try to not let them. We all live with the health legacy of how we spent our youth be that sports people or smokers.So what should we do? Just take every one day as if our last?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

