Guest Post from my Australian friend…

102867-My-Online-Friends
It was about one month after I quit smoking, when I met the Lady, who wrote the next guest post. I was fairly new at the quitsmokingmessageboard myself , still busy trying to understand everything that was happening to me, when she signed on. Our story, how we quit were similar and I felt an instant connection. I was still a newbie myself, but reached out to her. She is the only one, who I stayed in touch with and I am proud to call her my friend. She just celebrated her 1-year smoke-free anniversary and I am glad we both quit smoking around the same time, so we could meet.

So, with joy in my heart and a smile on my face, let me introduce you all to my quitbuddy Dors, here is her story:

Hi to all you bloggers out there in bloggerland.  My dear mate here is burning the candle at both ends, however both ends involve “work”… need to teach her a little bit about the burning thing..but anyway..she has asked me to help by doing a little entry to help her out, so here it goes 🙂

On March 7th, 2014 at bang on midnight, I decided to turn in for the night, you know get my beauty sleep.  I put out my cigarette, and actually noticed that I only had one left in the packet so made a mental note to go and get some first thing in the morning.  I turned out all the lights and headed towards the bedroom and for some reason I got a little disorientated on my way in the dark and walked smack bang into the door frame of the bedroom instead of going through the doorway…doh!!!  Anyway I sort of hit my head pretty hard and at first thought I had knocked out a tooth, but I hadn’t.  However, I did have a whopping head ache and was a bit stunned.  I made it to bed and managed to get to sleep for a couple hours, but I awoke with nausea and a massive head spin that was something I had never experienced before.  Yep, I had given myself a concussion and was out for the count.  Was stuck in bed for 2 full days, when you do something do it right huh!!! 

So two whole days had passed and was feeling much better by day 3.  Got up, did my usual morning thing, made my cup of tea, sat down, got my last cigarette out the packet and flicked the lighter, all ready to smoke what would have been my first of probably 30 cigarettes for the day.  But something in my brain screamed out STOP…I put down the smoke and the lighter and had an ephipany…I had gone for 2 whole days without smoking..yes I was too sick to even think about it but for the first time in over 30 years I realised…I hadn’t really thought about smoking…ding ding ding…I had not really thought about quitting, never crossed my mind until that moment with the cigarette in my mouth ready to go.  There began my journey to becoming a new me again.  A new NON-SMOKING me.  This was going to be a piece of cake…NOT !!!!!

It’s funny to actually say this but, I was just totally naive to the addiction that I had let myself be a slave to for more than 30 years of my life.  I never considered that I would get withdrawals…I mean addicts are people who are use heroin, or cocaine, or crack…not cigarettes, not tobacco…NOOOOOOO…I am not an addict…I know that may seem like a crock…but trust me…I was clueless…Day 3 of my new life and boy I was so in denial and suffering badly from nicotine withdrawal.  I know what I will do…go and buy some lozenges.  So off I went and bought them.  Cost me nearly the same amount as a packet of cigarettes and left me wondering why on earth I was quitting.  The replacement stuff is just as expensive as the actual cigarettes…huh!!! 

Day 4-6 I was suffering tremendously and was not understanding what the heck was going on.  I still had not smoked, I’m funny that way, once I make my mind up about something, I do my best to stick to that committment I have made.  Bit like playing a mind game with myself.  I decided to do some investigating on what quitting smoking was like for others, was I different somehow, just questions I had no answers for.  I found a recommendation from a site about a book by a guy called Allen Carr called The Easy Way to Quit Smoking.  I bought the e-book then and there (ah the wonders of technology at your fingertips !!!) and read it right away.  It was like reading a book about me…it was explaining me to me, how I was feeling and what to expect.  But it gave me the answers to ALL my questions and it all started to fall into place for me.  The next thing I found was an on-line support group for smokers wanting help quitting.  I lurked and read many of the stories on there and felt like I had found a sanctuary, a bunch of people who knew how I felt and could give me some moral support.  That’s how I met LadyBug.  She befriended me early on in my quit and it gave me such a buzz to know that there was this lady out there in cyberland actually willing to hold my hand and lead me in the right direction, keep me calm and give me some hope for the next day.

I have got to be honest and say that it took me a good 9 months until I felt secure in my new non-smoking life.  I went through some sort of metamorphosis a sweeping change that I had not even planned on.  And also never realised what sort of effect smoking really had on me.  The hold it had on me…it wasn’t until after I quit that I really saw cigarettes and smoking for what it was…A SLOW SUICIDE. 

The health benefits that I have gotten from quitting just keep getting better and better.  I can laugh and not cough every time.  I can take a deep breath and not gurgle.  My heart does not palpitate anymore.  My skin looks younger than when I was 30 something…(I am now 48).  My hair actually shines.  My teeth are whiter.  The yellowish stain on my finger has gone.  Food tastes amazing.  My rum and coke tastes amazing.

What a shame I spent my life in such denial for all those years, thinking that smoking wasn’t that bad and hey one day I might give it up but there’s no rush…it will be OK…Reading Ladybug’s posts here have opened my eyes even more to the hidden evils/diseases that lurk behind all that poison we put in our bodies. 

Anyway, I have just celebrated my one whole year of freedom from this addiction and am just so grateful that I pushed myself past all those dark days earlier on in my quit.  I am so glad that I trusted those who told me it would get better.  I am so grateful that I have given myself a chance of a happy/healthier/wealthier future. 

If any of you out there are still smoking and thinking about quitting….please give it a try…The amount of time that may be a little uncomfortable pales into obscurity after a while and then you get to the point that every ex smoker tells you about…the ahhhhh moment stage…the day you can say…hey I didn’t think about a cigarette at all today…wow.  I can honestly say quitting this addiction has empowered me.  I feel like a new person. 

Thank you for reading my ramblings and Ladybug, I hope your friend gets a break and will be given that second chance….just like I did 🙂

best friends 2
10 thoughts on “Guest Post from my Australian friend…

  1. Interesting read, I too quit after spending 3 weeks in hospital, was too sick to smoke and then when I got out, I figure hey just keep going, that was 6 months ago. I still crave a smoke every now and then, but I am still waiting for the suppose health benefits. I am no fitter, my fingers were never stained so that’s out, my skin is no better, my hair is no shinier, food and drink tastes no different, they air smells no cleaner, my eyes are no clearer, I never had heart palpitations or dizzy spells, I must admit, I am no longer a leper in public (so that is good), I would say i have more money except now I spend it all on camera gear! I can honestly say I often just miss my ME TIME I got from going outside for a ciggy. Everyone says it will get better in time, but I really feel no different!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it gets better after a year, the missing “me time” was tough on me as well 🙂 Nicotine has a little brother and that stuff stays in our system for longer, up to 1 year, responsible for the sudden craving of a cigarette out of the blue. I will write about it in 2 weeks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

