Dust if you must…

images (2)

Dust if you must,
but it might be better,
to paint a picture or write a letter,
to bake a cake or plant a seed,
to ponder the gap between want and need.

Dust if you must,
but theres not much time,
with rivers to swim and mountains to climb,
music to hear and books to read,
friends to cherish and life to lead,

Dust if you must,
but the worlds out there,
with sun in your eyes and wind in your hair,
a flutter of snow a show of rain,
this day will NOT come around again

Dust if you must,
but bare in mind,
old age will come and it mightn’t be kind,
and when you go, and go you must,
YOU, yourself will make more dust!

(Author Rose Milligan 1998)

This poem pretty much sums it up. Household chores are not a priority in my life. Our house is inviting and cozy, but not spotless. Nobody gets a nervous breakdown, when we find a hidden dust bunny under the bed, or animal hair on the furniture.

Life’s too short to clean and dust all the time, I learned it a long time ago. I tried to be “perfect” when were newly weds, could never live up to all the expectations I had made. The perfect wife, the perfect home, the perfect family…doesn’t exist and if they do exist, then I wonder if they are happy.

I  had an ongoing war with dust for years, now I have accepted the fact that there will always be dust somewhere and it’s alright.

wasted-life picture


Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves

What’s the household task you most dislike doing? Why do you think that is — is it the task itself, or something more?

26 thoughts on “Dust if you must…

  1. I am a bit like wscottling who commented above. Dusting on a routine regular basis is so soul -destroying I can’t face it. I prefer to dust p.r.n. ( as required) and I have been known to reach that snapping point in the heat of summer and exclaim, This house has to be cleaned!” It looks and smells so nice when it is clean, that is the temptation that draws me in, but I am certainly not going to spend my life doing it. ( I have a fridge magnet I hand painted of the meme you posted above. It is a nice reminder every day when I open the fridge not to prioritize cleaning over fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was a clean and neat freak for so long. I was fighting a loosing battle, especially with dogs in the house (yep, lets blame it all on the dogs.) I still clean like a maniac once in a while, but I although invented something that I call “sight cleaning”. Everything that’s at sight gets cleaned, the rest…oh well 🙂

      Like

  2. What a marvellous poem! When I worked I always used to spend Saturday cleaning and washing and shopping, week after week after week. Now that I am retired (there, finally said it) I clean when I am fed up of the mess, the dust comes back almost immediately so I have stopped thinking about that, but I do have a blitz every now and then. My criteria are that the bathrooms and the kitchen MUST be clean (though I confess the kitchen is rarely tidy).

    Thought it was time I popped in to see what you get up to as I don’t get to meet everyone in the now abandoned salon any more. I wonder what she (M-R) is up to with that website of hers!
    Jude xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you leave the dust alone it will finally settle in the corners of the room like snow. It doesn’t do any harm and will certainly give you time to do other things.
    They say, that dust carries a lot of good bugs that will strenghten your immunity and that asthma for instance can be caused by too great an obsession with getting rid of dust.
    I do vacuum though as H doesn’t like dust and dog hairs from Milo take over.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I could use a strengthening of my immune system that’s for sure. There is always dust with animals in the house, I just don’t sweat it anymore. “Welcome to our home..here is the lint roller” LOL

      Like

  4. Once upon a time I used to try to fit in my chores in a regimental day for this and day for that so that I had time around the weekend with family as a full time working Mum..
    But those days have long gone.. And the Dust is no longer a priority… Living is.. 🙂 Great Poem .. 🙂
    Enjoy your week. Hugs Sue

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are describing me, perhaps….?!
    Bravissima , with this post! Over-cleaning the house , has been recognized as a female phobia , nowadays !
    I remember those times when I used to play the so called “perfect wife”…… ….. …..

    What I hate more is hand dish-washing and doing the beds…
    The former , because I like to have a break after lunch or dinner and the latter because of my eternal backache….
    A big hug!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have a weird brain… I’m constantly fighting this inner urge to organize my space and my overall core feeling of “Eh, it’s not that important in the general scheme of things”. When I worked in an office, I’d let everything on my desk go for a while, then I’d snap and my co-workers would hear me yell, “There’s too much stuff on my desk!” before they heard me go into a frenzy of organizing. They thought it was hysterical.

    It’s the same with my house. I let it go until I can’t take the messiness anymore then it’s “Ahhhhh! this place is a mess!” and bam! I’ve gotta clean it. And the level of clutter that triggers this “gotta clean… right now!” isn’t always the same. Could be a day, could be a week, could be that piece of paper on the floor that fell off the desk. twitch twitch twitch. My mind is just weird like that.

    But normally, I’m like you… it’s just not worth worrying about day to day. I’ve got better stuff to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It just doesn’t bother me that much anymore as it did years ago. It gets done when I feel like it, never really gets totally out of hand anyway. But stuff like that doesn’t dictate my life anymore. You should have seen me 30 years ago lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

