Silly joke or honest truth?

happy_bunny

For some it might be just a silly joke, for others it will be honest truth:

Rabbit Yarn

A rabbit one day managed to break free from the testing laboratory where he had been born and brought up. As he scurried away from the fencing of the compound, he felt grass under his little feet and saw the dawn breaking for the first time in his life. ‘Wow, this is great,’ he thought.

It wasn’t long before he came to a hedge and, after squeezing under it he saw a wonderful sight, lots of other bunny rabbits, all free and nibbling at the lush grass. ‘Hey,’ he called. ‘I’m a rabbit from the laboratory and I’ve just escaped. Are you wild rabbits? ‘Yes. Come and join us,’ they cried. Our friend hopped over to them and started eating the grass. It tasted so good.

‘What else do you wild rabbits do?’ he asked. ‘Well,’ one of them said. ‘You see that field there? It’s got carrots growing in it. We dig them up and eat them.’ This, he couldn’t resist and he spent the next hour eating the most succulent carrots. They were wonderful.

Later, he asked them again, ‘What else do you do?’ ‘You see that field there? It’s got lettuce growing in it. We eat them as well.’ The lettuce tasted just as good and he returned a while later completely full. ‘Is there anything else you guys do?’ he asked.

One of the other rabbits came a bit closer to him and spoke softly. ‘There’s one other thing you must try. You see those rabbits there,’ he said, pointing to the far corner of the field. ‘They’re girl rabbits. We shag them. Go and try it.’ Well, our friend spent the rest of the morning shagging his little heart out until, completely knackered, he staggered back over to the guys. ‘That was fantastic,’ he panted.

‘So are you going to live with us then?’ one of them asked.
‘I’m sorry, I had a great time but I can’t.’
The wild rabbits all stared at him, a bit surprised. ‘Why? We thought you liked it here.’
‘I do,’ our friend replied. ‘But I must get back to the laboratory. I’m dying for a cigarette.’


I read this a few months into my quit and it made me swallow hard. I knew it was a joke, but I couldn’t really laugh. I forced a smile, but didn’t feel like it. It hit home and it forced me to look at my own past behavior and I didn’t like it.

I was that rabbit once, had to leave parties, concerts and movie theaters, just so I could get my nicotine fix. I left my own birthday party, stood outside in ice and snow and looked through the window and watched people eating my cake. I watched people having fun, but my cigarette was more important at that moment. It’s hard to admit, but it happened and not just ones. We don’t see it that way when we smoke, we can’t, because our behavior is normal…as irrational as it might be.

Just a stupid rabbit joke, but what an eyeopener it was. Honesty can hurt, it’s hard to take a good look at ourselves once in a while.

There is no such thing then being too honest. Honesty is the only way to go. I don’t sugarcoat…I tell it like it is.

However, striking the right tone makes the music. I believe language is a weapon on it’s own. The way how we say things, is almost as important as what we say.

We can be honest, but don’t have to be hurtful.

As for the little rabbit, it’s a good and honest reminder what addiction can do. In this case it’s a cigarette, but it could be booze, drugs or pills as well.

bugs_bunny_smoke_a_joint____by_esabani-d5zjy44

Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

16 thoughts on “Silly joke or honest truth?

  1. The bunny joke is funny and honest which makes it all the more humorous. We recognize ourselves in him. Look, I am right there with you in remembering my addictive smoking years. I didn’t even want to go over to dinner at someone’s house because I knew I’d have to not smoke All Night Long. I’m so glad those days are behind me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • How is the weather in Milano? It’s cold here today, almost had the heater going today. Crazy for June. I am happy that I quit and wouldn’t go back. I don’t think I realized how bad this addiction is until I quit..does that make sense?

      Like

      • Of course, it does…..
        Otherwise you would have given up earlier….,wouldn’t you?
        Be proud of yourself!

        The weather is somehow stupid today…cloudy but very warm….
        A beautiful day is expected for tomorrow,though….
        Hope the same for you , very soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a lot of truth here within this rabbit joke.. And I do not know about where you live right now but many young adults are getting hooked on the e-cigarettes .. These are being permitted indoors in public places here in the UK.. I can not help but wonder what chemicals are now being ingested and the non-smoker being subject to..

    And hey.. stop being hard on yourself… Remember.. you enjoyed each and every Puff!… as did my Hubby.. Now he is the worlds worst when it comes to anyone smoking near him and him breathing in second hand smoke.. he could wrench.

    And I agree with the above comment you made about additives and sugar…
    Many thanks for all you share.
    Love Sue ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Too many young kids smoke e-cigarettes here as well. Now regulations or laws -yet. The young generation steps into the same trap as we did. Different name for the same evil. It’s all about getting them addicted. The long therm harm will come out within 10 -15 years. New studies come out every day and they are alarming.
      Have a great week Sue 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I would jump to add food in that addictive list. Does honesty seem to make a difference when it comes to being confronted by the side affects of eating unhealthily? Depends on the person and where they are in their life. That’s the key, I think. But you’re 100% right. The delivery system has to be not just honest, but caring and loving or the person will not be receptive to it at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • True, food…unhealthy food and sugar should be included. Unfortunately it doesn’t count as an addiction -yet. Half of this country is overweight or obese. Look at all the slimming pills and other stuff. It’s something the most Americans don’t want to hear.

      Like

  4. I’m not dying for a cigarette, but I’m pretty much willing to do anything at all for a transporter to take us where we need to go without all the driving. It looks like every road up here is all construction all the way. Oy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

