I will be an embarrassment to ALL!

blog-pic-12

Didn’t we just recently have a prompt like that? And, what is wrong with my new friend that we can’t communicate?

I got to know so many people here, many of them because of the daily prompt and we have friendships growing through comments. Communication is the key and opens almost every door. How many wars could have been prevented, if the right people would have sat down and talked? How many relationships would be still intact or would have ended with less hurt, if people would have talked and listened?

So, if my new friend doesn’t want to talk or write, then I don’t see us being friends in the near future. I am rambler, love words and word plays. I love to laugh and nothing brings more joy to my heart, than spending time with friends and people I love.

A playlist describing me is not possible, it would be too confusing. A friend sent me the following poem a while back. I read it and emailed back “but I don’t have horses”. She answered promptly  “No, but you have dogs and you are pretty good in the embarrassment department.” Friends know you well and they don’t know you through songs.

So I guess it means I pass on today’s daily rerun prompt once again. I think I make my own prompts from now on..yeah, I like that idea. Challenges to get to know each other better. I would love that a whole lot.

When I Am An Old Horsewoman

I shall wear turquoise and diamonds,
And a straw hat that doesn’t suit me
And I shall spend my social security on
white wine and carrots,
And sit in my alleyway of my barn
And listen to my horses breathe.

I will sneak out in the middle of a summer night
And ride the old bay gelding,
Across the moonstruck meadow
If my old bones will allow
And when people come to call, I will smile and nod
As I walk past the gardens to the barn
and show instead the flowers growing
inside stalls fresh-lined with straw.

I will shovel and sweat and wear hay in my hair
as if it were a jewel
And I will be an embarrassment to ALL
Who will not yet have found the peace in being free
to have a horse as a best friend
A friend who waits at midnight hour
With muzzle and nicker and patient eyes
For the kind of woman I will be
When I am old.

-Author Patty Barnhart


Mix Tape Masterpiece

You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

13 thoughts on “I will be an embarrassment to ALL!

  1. About myself and my life , i agree with Aquileana …..
    I often recall my youngest years and old memories come to my mind , but I don’t think they would be of any interest for my cobloggers , except for some particular episodes….
    Absolutely love the poem!
    As for Ramazzotti’s song…………………I prefer the Italian version, of course, though I find the Spanish one is ok , too.
    Did I tell you that “mi piace molto il tuo blog”?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m too zonked withe exhaustion this morning to more than plunk myself on the sofa and wait for the caffeine to wake me up. Which I hope it does, soon, because this is pretty late in the day for me to be comatose.

    Like

  3. I think most know my thoughts on plastering a daily prompt with my choice of videos, but I did risk one which I found ties in with what I wrote about. “When will they learn” is a sentence from a German song “Sag mir wo die Blumen sind” from Marlene Dietrich, but we could apply it to WordPress. However, I suceeded and wrote somelthing completely different. I never have a problem with talking or writing (especially talking as Mr. Swiss knows only too well – poor man), so let’s do it. Heb e schöne tag wo du bisch

    Like

  4. I like your thoughts on the prompt issue… “A playlist describing me is not possible”, yes! I know what you mean… That’s why when it comes to awards I just follow the nomination without answering to questions or stating facts about me … I find al that quite annoying!.. 😛
    I like the poem you have chosen! … Thanks for sharing! . Love and best wishes. Aquileana 😀

    Like

    • I don’t do the award anymore, they took too much time and I felt like running in a circle. Always felt bad when I didn’t find the time to answer to a nomination. Indeed annoying lol. Have a great summer my friend. Best wishes, Bridget

      Like

Leave a Reply

