No Princess in my Kingdom

Disney-princess-cartoon-image-31000

“I am the Princess” she said and grabbed a candy bar.

“No you are not, we don’t have princesses here” said Spider and she pointed all around her.

“That’s right, we are all equal”  said Jimmy and held out his hand for her candy bar.

“I can be the Princess anytime I want to” and she held onto the candy bar.

“So, what makes you the Princess?” Spider asked.

“My Daddy says I am his Princess. I even have a crown” and she pointed to her head.

“Princesses don’t have a crown, they have a tiara everybody knows that.” Jimmy was the smart ass as always.

She ignored him. “I am the Princess here and you all have to do what I say”.

Spider laughed out loud “and why would we do that?”

“Because I am special, my Daddy says so” she stomped her feet, turned around and sat down.

“We are all special” said Spider as she jumped up to sit on my workbench.

“Nobody is special, we are all equal.” Jimmy looked like he was ready to give a political speech.

“You all are my maids and butlers and have to do what I say.”  

“Is that so?” said Spider. She crossed her arms in front of her chest. “Then say, how much do you pay us?”

“I don’t pay anybody” said the Princess.

Jimmy stood in front of her “did you sleep in school?” He shook his head. “There is no slavery anymore, maids and butlers get paid a lot of money.”

“That’s not true, everybody works for the Princess for free, they all love her.” She said with a shaky voice.

Spider tried to be the diplomatic as always. “That’s Disney Stuff, movies…that’s not real.”

Jimmy nodded his head in agreement. “Exactly…if you want us to serve you, then you have to pay us.”

“But I don’t have any money” said the Princess with a shaky voice and I thought I would have to step in.

“Well, if you don’t have any money, then you can’t afford us.”

“Alright” she said and they decided to play another game, one were everybody was equally unequal.


This conversation took place in my workroom, just a few days back. I was working, or pretended to be working, when the kids, who spend every year a lot of time during the summer in my workshop and yard, had this discussion over candy bars I had laid out for them.

I thought it was an interesting piece of argumentation on all sides. The little girl, who has been raised like a Princess encountered the real world, when she tried to boss other kids around.

Personally I believe we are all special in our own way, but not above others.  I am glad they got it all sorted out and there will be peace in my Kingdom for the upcoming weeks, until school will start and I will get rid of all of them.

All the time I thought I might have to step in and I am glad I didn’t. I had to hold back laughter, when they asked the Princess to pay them. I thought it was priceless, although it showed me a lot of how kids are brought up these days. Some get raised thinking they are special and they are in for a rude awakening, when life will tell them they are not. Others get raised in the believe, that we all are equal and I am afraid they will be in for a rude awakening as well.

Who knows, maybe things will change until they will be adults and one day it will be true and we will be truly equal.

And now I go offline and feed my unicorn.

Unicorns

Groupthink

Write a post that includes dialogue between two people — other than you. (For more of a challenge, try three or more people.)

10 thoughts on “No Princess in my Kingdom

  1. Yes, it is popular amongst modern parents to make children believe they are ‘special and unique’ when in fact they are just children growing up like other children. Another is the giving great praise for non-achievements. Is it any wonder kids are disappointed when they grow up without becoming a world-wide recognised celebrity?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, my. What a conversation. And isn’t it interesting that even this young it all boils down to money……I guess we will be glad they found something else to divert their attention….

    Like

Leave a Reply

