Wishing you well and smiling~!

generation_gap_by_vitaloverdose-d6ezqvk

I think about the different generations in my life and I understand them all. The young ones, in their 20’s and 30’s are exactly like I have been when I was their age. I remember it well, the 70’s and 80’s. I got advice left and right. People tried to tell me what to do and what not to do. I listened to all of it, nodded like I would agree with some that had been said, went on and did it my way.
“I don’t want you to make our mistakes” or “learn from our mistakes” were sayings we heard back then and we ignored it, we ignored it all, we didn’t listen. We were young adults, rebels without a cause and entitled to make our own mistakes…and so we did.

We couldn’t please the older generation anyway. Not with our music, nor with our clothes. Nothing that we did seemed right, they disapproved of almost everything. Only a few older people smiled when they looked at us.

Now I know, the ones smiling were the ones who remembered their own youths, they hadn’t completely forgotten how it felt.

I am in my early 50’s and feel often like I am sitting between two chairs, right there in the middle between the young generation and the older generation.

I am not suppose to understand everything they do. I don’t have to change my ways, just because there is now something new and supposedly better available. I am allowed to hang on to what I treasure. I can choose and decide what things are worth trying and which are not.

I am not suppose to just sit there and follow in older peoples footsteps either. Life is different now…faster. A lot of technological and social changes have taken place and people just one generation apart are drastically different from each other. This hasn’t been like this 50 years ago. Times were slower then, access to information was limited, things changes slowly.

I learned that every generation has a right to make their own mistakes, that’s just the way it is…always has been.

I learned to understand and I hope I will always smile with understanding.

back-in-my-day

Generation XYZ

Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you. What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

10 thoughts on “Wishing you well and smiling~!

  1. I don’t like people who are stuck to their position , not accepting other generations’ ideas and tastes….
    It’s not a bad thing to just be in the middle: we can learn from both….and then do our way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like I’m in the same place most of the time…almost like a bridge between the older and younger generations…constantly explaining things to both sides and trying to help them meet in the middle. It is exhausting. I do think the young have to make their own mistakes…..thing is, like you pointed out, there is such a great divide now with the technology that I think they’ll have alot of different mistakes to make, so maybe not so many people breathing down their necks telling them this and that from their own experience, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have no problem with the selfies (I take my own) or texting (just because I don’t like it, doesn’t mean it’s not a good idea). Or that kids think they invented technology. (They didn’t invent it. We did that. )

    What bugs me is the attitude of entitlement. I know it’s not their fault. We, their parents and grandparents, are responsible. We gave everything WE wanted. Some survived the onslaught of getting too much too easily. Others never recovered and are still waiting for life to drop from the chimney like Santa. Carrying the big bag of goodies.

    I do love it when the wise-ass kids have a problem with a computer or camera and have to come over to ask the old lady how to fix it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am more of the intolerable curmudgeon likely to look with disdain at the forever texting and selfie taking youth. I suppose a shade of being jealous of their youthful exhuberance and freedom. Except I really really love it when they are skateboarding around the joint or throwing wheelies on their bikes, bash up old fogeys.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with everything you said. I never want to sound like the old lady who cannot understand the younger generation- and agree with you that they need to learn by making the same mistakes we did. It is part of growing up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

