Doctor, doctor give me the news~!

overmedication

I am a terrible patient, know too much and know too little, question everything and question it again, when I am not satisfied with the answers I get. I am always looking for explanations, do my own research and don’t take “No” for an answer.

I am the nightmare patient, for all the doctors who think they are gods in white. As for me, there are no god’s in white. Being a doctor is a profession, it’s a job like so many others. Sometimes I think I live in lala-land. Are my expectations too high? Am I supposed to just say “Yes” and “Amen” to whatever they say? Am I supposed  to quietly take the medications that are thrown at me? Am I supposed  to be quiet, when I have so many questions?

Ron White ones joked  “I have the right to be quiet, but not the capability”…that would be me. This is my life, my health, my body and I have a say in it. I want to be informed, want to know everything there is to know about the disease or condition I am in. I want to be treated with respect; I want to be informed…is that really too much to ask?

I don’t believe in our so called Healthcare system anymore, stopped believing in it a long time ago. I think many of us are over-medicated and under-cared for. I think we pay too much for doctor’s visits and way too much for our medications. I am so fed up with it, I have smoke coming out of my ears and nose and will write a few post about it in the upcoming days. So fasten your seat belt, saddle your horses this will be a bumpy ride. 🙂

There is one thing all doctors should have in common; they all should be bound by an oath, the Hippocratic Oath that is historically taken by physicians.

What happened to that? Was the text inconvenient? Did it interfere with our Billion Dollar Pharmaceutical Industry and the FDA? Is that why we in USA decided not to use it so much anymore?

Just is case this has been all forgotten, here is the old, original Oath. In its original form it required new physicians to swear by a number of healing gods, to uphold specific ethical standards.

I swear by Apollo the physician, and Aesculapius the surgeon, likewise Hygeiaand Panacea, and call all the gods and goddesses to witness, that I will observe and keep this underwritten oath, to the utmost of my power and judgment.
I will reverence my master who taught me the art. Equally with my parents, will I allow him things necessary for his support, and will consider his sons as brothers. I will teach them my art without reward or agreement; and I will impart all my acquirement, instructions, and whatever I know, to my master’s children, as to my own; and likewise to all my pupils, who shall bind and tie themselves by a professional oath, but to none else.
With regard to healing the sick, I will devise and order for them the best diet, according to my judgment and means; and I will take care that they suffer no hurt or damage.
Nor shall any man’s entreaty prevail upon me to administer poison to anyone; neither will I counsel any man to do so. Moreover, I will give no sort of medicine to any pregnant woman, with a view to destroy the child.
Further, I will comport myself and use my knowledge in a godly manner.
I will not cut for the stone, but will commit that affair entirely to the surgeons.
Whatsoever house I may enter, my visit shall be for the convenience and advantage of the patient; and I will willingly refrain from doing any injury or wrong from falsehood, and (in an especial manner) from acts of an amorous nature, whatever may be the rank of those who it may be my duty to cure, whether mistress or servant, bond or free.
Whatever, in the course of my practice, I may see or hear (even when not invited), whatever I may happen to obtain knowledge of, if it be not proper to repeat it, I will keep sacred and secret within my own breast.
If I faithfully observe this oath, may I thrive and prosper in my fortune and profession, and live in the estimation of posterity; or on breach thereof, may the reverse be my fate!

(Source Wikipedia)


I get it, some things are outdated, but the main message in this oath still hits home.

Imagine, doctors working for free, wouldn’t that be something? Healthcare and Medicine, this is big money business. Far from its origins today aren’t we? It was a calling once, like being a priest, a nun or a monk is a calling and not a profession. I wish this would have never changed. I am not saying they shouldn’t be paid, I am saying they get paid way too much, compared to nurses, policeman and fireman, the ones we rely on when we lay in a hospital bed, the ones we rely on when our life is in immediate danger.

The word diet from the old Latin word “dieta/diaeta” with its’ origin in Greek (δίαιτα diaita) meaning “way of living” and/or “the sum of foods consumed.” I guess this part of the oath had to go as well.

Harmful, processed and genetically altered foods are stocked in our grocery shelves, foods, that are toxic for many and make people sick. They get approval, but the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) will disapprove of almost any form of alternative medicine or treatment that might actually help people. We have a long list of modern diseases: Diabetes, high blood pressure, cardio vascular diseases, auto immune disorders and many more and we still don’t question our form of living?

I have only one question: What the HELL happened to us?

To be continued…


HippocraticOath

11 thoughts on “Doctor, doctor give me the news~!

  1. There is more money to be made keeping people sick, obese and in pain than finding a cure. Doctors today just manage symptoms.

    Like

  2. Over-medicated and under-cared for… That pretty much sums it up right there, doesn’t it? I’ve noticed that the GP’s we used to have (general practitioners) used to know a heck of a lot more than all these PA’s soaking up our money. Everything is so specialized now that no one knows anything. I say bring back the Marcus Welbys! I never had anything my GP couldn’t handle, even surgery.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A subject after my heart. In strongly capitalist societies, health has become big business and it is this business that prescriptions are a huge revenue earners for many medical conglomerates. Bigger is better but when it comes to obesity, no government will really tackle the biggest health care issue, that of junk food and sugar.
    Instead we trod off to the quack and get another prescription. At shopping-malls one sees hugely obese people grazing out of bags and boxes, jaws mastication themselves into diabetes and early death, yet no one wants to tackle the ‘ cancerous smoke’ coming from junk food.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Half of our society is addicted to food, they would lose votes and that’s the one thing they don’t want to risk. It’s a shame and it angers me. Wait until you will read what I have to say in my next posts. I am furious.

      Like

  4. Definitely we should take great interest in ANYthing being prescribed for us or decided about our health. That’s not even a question. At this point, the God-syndrome is gone…..medicine is now ruled by insurance and pharmaceutical companies as you pointed out. I know of no one that blindly accepts anymore……it’s not just a right, it’s a must to know all we can and to be part of the decisions for our health.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m entirely with you, about doctors , Medicare etc..
    What I complain , furtherly , is their “bad” attitude towards those patients who would need particular attention and care …… Old people , immigrants, uneducated or poor persons, are not always treated as it would be expected , in terms of explanations and kindness….
    Maybe , this doesn’t happen in your country …..
    Hope so!
    Ciao!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wrote a long bunch of posts on medical care … lots of them. Got lots of responses from other angry, frustrated people. The whole thing has improved since Obama’s bill. It’s not what it ought to be, but it is better than it was. At least most people HAVE medical care. Many didn’t before.

    I am on Medicare — as is Garry. It has limitations, but it’s better than most private insurance plans. The medication benefits suck. And there’s no dental, hearing, or vision … but those were always add-ons. Someone, a long time ago, decided that hearing, seeing, and eating are cosmetic, not medical issues.

    I agree most of us are over-medicated, but worse, many of us are WRONGLY medicated. It pays to know as much as you can about whatever medical problems you have. To know what medications you take and how they interact with other medications because doctors don’t necessarily know. I miss my previous PCP who was very good with medications and knowing all the interactions and alternative drugs and holistic versions … but she had the worse front office anywhere and half the time, they screwed up everything anyway. Then, her “organization” refused to work with BCBS Senior, so I couldn’t use her as my primary anymore.

    Now I have a sucky primary, but he has a fantastic support staff. It would be really nice to get both at the same time. I’m good with my other health care people, though. They work with Beth Israel in Boston which, of the big Boston Medical centers … most of which are really top-notch facilities with really excellent doctors … is the best of the best. I’d be happier if it weren’t 70 miles away!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Affordable Care act is a step in the right direction, but far away from being good or perfect. Dental and Vision should always be part of a Health plan so should be hearing aids. Although it’s not so affordable for many in the middle class, they get thrown right into medicare. I question everything about our healthcare system, especially the billing part.

      Like

Leave a Reply

