Haven’t we learned?

Donald-Trump_3372655b

I remember it very well. The year was 1975 and I was sitting in school and listened to our history professor. The new school year had just begun; we all had spent summer time with our families, either in Italy, Austria or Germany and now we were back to school.

Our history professor looked at all of us and she looked serious. I loved history, loved to learn about the word and world leaders and couldn’t wait to hear more. I was wondering what countries we would discuss in the upcoming year.

She finally started talking very quietly and told us we would learn and hear everything about the Second World War (WWII) and Adolf Hitler. There would be no other subject the whole year, nothing else, just the history of our parents and grandparents…our history~!

I was shocked and although excited. We all had heard things about the war that took place before we were born, but conversations were never continued when we were around. That was adult stuff, we were too young to understand -that was always the explanation.

I was wondering if that meant I wasn’t a child any longer now since I would learn all about it.

Our class started and we learned a lot in just a few months. I was listening in disbelieve, always went home and asked my Grandmother, if all of it was really true.

Adolf Hitler and the Nazis blamed the Jews for the loss of World War One and the economic crises afterwards. He created an enemy by saying that all off Germany’s problems had been caused by Jewish people. Many people believed him. His solution was to ban Jews from society, he promised to make Germany a large and economically powerful country. Hitler and his party won the election in 1932 and his party came to power.

Finally I raised my hand and asked our teacher. How could one man change a whole nation? How could one man cause so much torture, grief and hate? Didn’t the people know better?

We talked about it for many hours. Things were different then; people weren’t as informed as we were in 1975. We had newspapers that got delivered every morning to our school. Only serious papers in various languages and we all were encouraged to read about what was going on in the world. We talked about it during lunch and dinner, wrote essays in different classes.

We had newspapers, TVs, radios and telephones.

I was relieved when I thought about it. Nothing like that could ever happen again. Nobody could tell lies about another race or another country ever again. Nobody would listen, everybody would know better now, because we were informed now in 1975. A child’s wish for a better future I suppose.

Now 40 years later we have the internet, cell phones, tablets, laptops, Wi-Fi, electronic books and so much more, you would think we are better informed than ever.

I am in my 50’s now, sit on my desk in front of my computer and read with disbelieve about a guy who is running for President  and who is trying to put blame on one nation, one race –again.

Creating an enemy, that’s an old “trick” and Donald Trump is trying to do what Hitler did over 80 years ago. I am in no way or form saying that Trump is like Hitler- Goodness I hope nobody ever will be that evil again- I am just comparing the techniques used to get votes and power.

This time the Mexicans get the blame and the hate that comes with it:

“When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending their best. They’re not sending you. They’re not sending you. They’re sending people that have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists. And some, I assume, are good people.” (Donald Trump)

“What can be simpler or more accurately stated? The Mexican Government is forcing their most unwanted people into the United States. They are, in many cases, criminals, drug dealers, rapists, etc.” (Donald Trump)

The last statement is hard to believe, considering that Mr. Trump isn’t Native American, but a child of immigrants himself.

It is so easy to set things straight. A little research and one can find crime-and-immigration statistics and studies everywhere:

Trump’s repeated statements about immigrants and crime underscore a common public perception that crime is correlated with immigration, especially illegal immigration. But that is a misperception; no solid data support it, and the data that do exist negate it. Trump can defend himself all he wants, but the facts just are not there…..(source Washington post)

What worries me is the fact, that Trump’s poll numbers are up, some people like what he is saying. What worries me is, that hate is sending the wrong message once again.

I am so tired of hate, haven’t we learned anything? Will we every learn?

I applaud all the companies that have ended their business relationship with Donald Trump. Well done, well done! Now I wish our Politicians would show as much backbone!

14 thoughts on “Haven’t we learned?

  1. I totally agree! Trump is a blow-hot and I can’t believe the people who are seem to be following him. Even some in my own family…they see him as the vehicle in which to “Take back this country.” What the hell does that mean ….??

    Anyway…thanks for your post it was very refreshing to someone else feels the way I do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t worry about Trump. The media need him to boost their ratings. Trump will fade away when they have used him to their content. Fornow, if you don’t like to see or hear him, switch to another channel, or turn off the TV completely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree. Some people think the way to unite a nation is to give them a common enemy. Like the Native American Indians long ago. We forget WE (us white dudes with our idea of manifest destiny) created our own holocaust here… I’m tired of this election already and it hasn’t even started yet.

    Like

  4. Surely Trump will be outed for what he is. He looks even a nutter,. Mind you we have a Prime minster here whi is also close to being a Trump. Full of spite and blame, frightening the voters into obedience and non questioning acceptance of what he tells them. He too will fail.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bridget this is a wonderful post- first to tell it from your perspective about learning about Hitler, and then to show how someone in power can sway people and lay blame on other people. Frightening. I am aghast every day when I see Trump’s numbers climb in the polls.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Finding a scapegoat for a nation’s problems is an old, sad story which has been repeated throughout history. Hitler was just the most efficient at accomplishing his goal and effectively, he did at least part of what he promised: he eliminated European Jewry. He didn’t fix the economy and in fact, it took a generation to recover from the mess he created … but he killed so many Jews (and Gypsies and a couple of other groups) he permanently changed the demographics of eastern and central Europe. Could there be another Hitler? Yes. Will there be? Let’s hope not.

    Like

    • Back then, Myself and other kids my age, we were embarrassed by the stupidity of our parents and grandparents. The question “how could that have happened in our country” was often asked. Later I learned, that my Grandfather was put into a concentration camp for a few weeks (twice), because he refused to use the Hitler greeting. He was set free, but never recovered from it. He died the year I was born.
      Honestly, I think all it takes is one idiot, and history will repeat itself. I really think we are not capable of learning.

      Like

  7. So true, Bridget!
    We all need a scape goat , it seems .
    If somebody takes profit of this and makes people focus a possible enemy (immigrants, Jews , coloured people….) he gains the game…
    Apparently , we never learn from the past
    Very good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so disappointed and disgusted by this, I can’t even tell you. I have never been a Trump fan, but now I have zero respect for him or his followers. It’s pathetic, scary and it leaves me with great sadness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

