Quiet and loud~!

style

I think I found my style when I was in my mid 30’s. That was the age, when I was finally comfortable with myself and confident enough to think outside the box.

I don’t let magazines or trends dictate what I wear, or what I have to like. I was just joking around “is not having a style a style?” Now, in my 50’s, I am the most confident I have ever been.

Style is not about buying clothes or things, it’s about how you wear them, how you use them and where you put them.

I like color schemes that match, but love an eye catching piece in the middle and believe it or not, that goes for everything.

It starts with my clothes. I am the jeans and t-shirt girl, love blazers and flats and then, when everything matches perfectly, then I grab a pair of colorful eyeglasses to distract the “perfect look”.

I love short and crazy haircuts, love the way it makes me feel. Blonde or red highlights, depending on my mood and season, but then, when everything is perfect, then I ask for a purple or blue string somewhere.

Same goes for our house. Matching, friendly colors everywhere at first sight, until you see the eye catcher, the one loud piece of either furniture or art. There is always something in every room that doesn’t seem to match at first sight. A special piece that rocks the boat a little bit.

And now, while typing this I realize this is just who I am. Every time you think you have figured me out, I will throw you a curve ball. What can I say 🙂

1385172971763679


Style Icon

Describe your personal style, however you’d like to interpret that — your clothing style, your communication style, your hair style, your eating style, anything.

11 thoughts on “Quiet and loud~!

  1. Great post! I *love* this principle…and can see it reflected in my clothing style but I’ve never labeled it in this way. Currently, my style of dress is in transition because I’m doing more athletics and needing to learn all about this gear and how to mix it in with my busy lifestyle. Fitness gear is definitely a place to be loud and quiet and have fun. I’m eager to shop for new fall clothes based on my new needs.

      • Exactly! Nike described their recent line of running gear as “skittle” colored, brights to be mixed and matched like a handful of candy thrown on a table. There’s now way you can miss me running in my neons but I’m not digging the same attention while shopping at Costco, lol 😀

  2. I’m not so sure about my style…..
    One thinks to be clever , but is only non-stupid
    Or thinks to be elegant and is only a copy of someone else…
    When one thinks to be subtle and delicate , people perceive him/her as clumsy and self-conceited…..
    How can one describe his/her own style?

    “Scherzi a parte” , I find it very difficult to respond!

    • I think I got comfortable when I didn’t care about what others did anymore. To me it doesn’t matter what other people think. The ones I care about love me for who I am, the other won’t ever get me and that might be a good thing :-). The most unique people don’t fit in a drawer, or any drawer.

      • I didn’t mean that I care too much about what people say…..
        and I’m quite comfortable with my aspect and my way of living….
        But how can I describe myself?
        I could tell which style I’d like : yours , for instance!

      • You too are part of the “I don’t give a shit” generation :-). I bet it would be interesting, if you would describe yourself. I read the prompt and thought “I don’t have a style” there is nothing to type. Then I started thinking about it some more. Maybe not having a style is a style 😉

Leave a Reply

