It’s complicated~!

mehndi-tattoo

Getting a tattoo is on my bucket list since years. I am always playing around with the idea and I admire beautiful tattoos on other people. Still I haven’t done it. I have a weird relationship with needles. I sew with them and use them in my workshop all the time, but don’t you dare poking me.

In the 80’s, when I was a young adult I feared to get a tattoo, since stories of dirty needles were going around. Although, I was a student and newly wed, there was not much extra money to spend. Later, when the money wasn’t so tied anymore, AIDS came up and again, I feared to have someone poke me with a needle…any needle.

For a while I didn’t think about it anymore, I was busy with my career and our home and when I thought about it, then I couldn’t make up my mind what I wanted.

It’s complicated, even now in my 50’s. What do I like so much, that I want it tattooed on my body for the next 40 years? I can’t come up with anything. A Ladybug maybe, but then which one?

I have the tendency to change my mind, when it comes to decor and decoration. I rearrange things all the time, change wall colors and hair colors depending on my mood. I like it for a few years, but then I need something different.

I spend some time in Asia and always admired Mehndi tattoos. Mehndi or Mehandi tattoos are especially popular in India. They look so elegant and so tasteful and the best part is, they wash away over time. It’s an organic paint, made out of crushed leaves and twigs of the Henna plant. It takes around 3 weeks and the tattoo slowly fades away. And…there are no needles involved, what makes the Mehndi tattoo the front runner.

I really should look into that and should allow myself this special treat and fulfill my wish and get one. I need to start working on my bucket list.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s Frisbee Wednesday at Serendipity , this prompt came in handy. Two flies with one stone 🙂


Tattoo….You?

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

17 thoughts on “It’s complicated~!

  1. Henna is beautiful- it is done at a ceremony before a Sephardic Jewish wedding sometimes- I have always found the designs so intricate and amazing! It does take a few weeks to wear off- a good compromise for getting a tattoo if one is not sure 🙂

  2. Yours is the perfect age for a tattoo , if you like it!
    I never thought it would do for me , for I’ve always had the tendency of changing my mind , and , up to now , I didn’t know about those henna tattoos…..
    Let us know what you are going to do , please!

  3. Henna tattoos are awesome! We had a large Indian student population at my college so whenever there was a festival of any sort, there was always someone doing henna tattoos. I’ve had my fair share of them. I’ll have to post a picture if I can find it.

  4. Funny, this is the second post already this morning about tattoos. The other blogger was talking about getting a tattoo (her first) to mark a certain period of sobriety. I have several tattoos – enough that when somebody asks how many, I have to touch all the places on my body where I have them to count. I think well done tattoos can be beautiful. I’ll fully admit that I am attracted to women with tattoos. The other blogger said that tattoos, even though they are forever, simply mark a point in time. My caution would merely be to be cautious about the location of any permanent tattoo. Some employers and other people can be mighty “judgy” about tattoos, even though they are far more mainstream than they used to be.

    • I am a little bit older (gosh that sounds good). I am 51 and stopped wondering about what other people might think a long time ago. Judgmental people will always judge, no matter what you do. Believe me they will find something.

      I work alone, for myself kinda semiretired and made my hobby my living. I guess I can pretty much do as I please and my husband loves me anyway.

      I really need to think about it some more.

  5. Those are pretty tattoos, especially the peacock, but I’m wondering how they keep the sparkly bits attached to the skin. I have two tattoos, so I will impart a little bit of wisdom here. First, find a clean and reputable tattoo artist. Go visit with him/her before you decide to go ahead with a tattoo. You can see their studio and talk to them and if he/she is a good artist, they can help you with your design. Second piece of wisdom is think about where you want your tattoo. There are certain parts of the body (like the feet and lower abdomen) that are more sensitive than others. My second tattoo is on the back left shoulder and I can say that I almost fell asleep during parts of the process. Did not hurt much. Also, the placement may be critical for work (does your employer want it to show?) or simply for how it looks as you get older. Have fun with this and I hope you eventually get a cool tattoo that you can admire for the next 40 years.

    • I work for myself, there is no boss who can tell me what to do. Only my husband and he know better :-).

      What do I look out for when I visit a tattoo shop? First impression, if it’s clean or not..what else?

      I have no idea how the keep the sparkle attached, but I am going to find out and will keep you posted. As I just told Marilyn, no more postponing. I am going to work on my bucket list now.

      • I would take note of the equipment (does it look like it’s taken care of and clean). You can talk with the artist and ask questions about how they sterilize their equipment and needles. You might find something online that would help you ask the right questions. Ask if they would give you references of others who they tattooed and you can also check with the Better Business Bureau to ensure there are no complaints against his/her business. Does that help?

    • I really need to do that don’t I? I always postpone things like that, thinking there is still so much time to fulfill my dreams and wishes later. I need to start working on them now, when I still can.

Leave a Reply

