Be careful what you wish for~!

fiat-500rossa

Yes of course, I tossed a coin in that damn fountain and made a wish. It was my first vacation alone. I had driven to Rome all by myself in the old, cancer eaten Beetle I had back then. I had studied Latin in school, had learned everything there is to know about the Roman Empire and the politics back then and now, for the first time, I was visiting the city of my dreams and walking the old roads that had made so much history. I was 18 years old and an adult, so they said.

My Grandmother wasn’t thrilled when she heard about my vacation plans. She gave in and allowed me to go, but insisted that I had to take our dog with me. The dog was absolutely useless, considering he was with me to keep me safe, but he was a good passenger and I didn’t feel alone. Rome was about 7 hours away from our little village, if you used the Autostrada and if you had a normal, running vehicle. It took me around 10 hours in my old Beetle, because I drove on county roads down the coast line to avoid the toll fees.

I had walked and explored Rome for about 8 days, when it was time to leave. I am not very much into fountains, but knew I wouldn’t hear the end of it, if I would come home without seeing the “Fontana di Trevi”, the famous fountain that rose to fame in the movie “La dolce vita” by Fellini.

The fountain is not on a main road, I had to walk through narrow alleys and then I saw it. There was a small cafe on the corner and I sat down, ordered an espresso and some pastry for breakfast, gave the dog some water and a biscuit. It was first thing in the morning and the place was already crowded with tourists from all over the world. Everybody got their picture taken in front of the fountain; they all made wishes and tossed coins in the water.

The coin has to be held in the right hand and has to be tossed over the left shoulder into the water. The old legend says the coin will ensure that you will return to Rome in the future.

I watched the people for a while, smiled when I saw their excitement. Later on at night kids would jump in the fountain and would search for these coins, before the city employees would fish the rest of the money out and would donate them to charity.

I got up, fished a coin out of my purse and I went to the fountain. I tossed the coin in the water and smiled. Yes, I wanted to come back to Rome, I liked the idea.

I went back to my car and drove away. I was about 2 hours away from Rome, when I noticed something was wrong with my car. I could drive, but could hardly make it up any hill and switching gears was almost impossible. I turned around, found a small mechanic store and stopped. They inspected my car and told me I would need a new clutch. It was a small store outside of Rome, they had to order the part and it would take about one week or two, before my car would be ready, so they told me.

I couldn’t stay that long. I had to be home, university started and my Grandmother was expecting me back. There was stuff to do at home. The mechanics were very helpful; they rented me a small Fiat for a decent price and I continued my way home in an old Italian car.

2 weeks later on a Friday night I was on my way back to Rome, because I had to pick up my vehicle and return the other one.

Back then, 30 years ago I was furious with the fountain. The wish of the coin came true a little bit different than I thought it would.

Be careful what you wish for~!

Fontana_di_Trevi


Three Coins in the Fountain

Have you ever tossed a coin or two into a fountain and made a wish? Did it come true?

18 thoughts on “Be careful what you wish for~!

  1. The foto of all the tourists circling the fountain is putting me off. I know how it is like. I was trying to have a peek at the Mona Lisa in Paris many years ago. I went to the public toilet instead and had such a peaceful time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

