Helpless on the sideline~!

Helpless-Children

These days I feel more helpless than ever before. Maybe it’s something that comes with aging. I haven’t felt that way when I was younger. I feel like I am forced to stand on the sidelines and there is nothing I can do to change the game. I try and I try, but it seems that my ideas and my ideals are pushed further and further away. Sometimes I feel like I don’t fit in anymore.

  • I drive around and see homeless people in the streets. Now and then I invite someone to a meal or give away a coat, but there is not much I can do to change it all. “Don’t give them anything. They just buy drugs and alcohol” so I hear, but I know it’s not always true. Many need help, but my hands are tight, I feel helpless.
  • I see all the animals sitting in cages, waiting for their new family to come by. We just adopted another dog, but I can’t help them all. Many will die young; some will be put down -somewhere- there isn’t room for all of them. My hands are tight, I feel helpless.
  • I read the news, read about another shooting and it makes me so sad. It happens more and more often. Guns in the wrong hands! The right to have a gun is overpowering in this country. The harm that is done with this right is overwhelming. Still, I stay on the sideline. Sometimes I say something, but nothing will change. My hands are tight, I feel helpless.
  • Last year I watched my Sister-in-law die from cancer. She had to suffer for months, because she lived in the wrong state. She had to suffer, because they didn’t allow her to die with dignity, as she wanted to. They didn’t have the money to move. She had to lay there, heavily medicated for months. We are more human to animals, than we will ever be toward human beings. I can write about it, I can spread the word and I can vote and hope for change. Still, I stay on the sideline. My hands are tight, I feel helpless.

I could write on for hours, but what good would it do? “One person can make a difference” and I know that’s true, but until it happens I stay helpless on the sideline. Many, many things these days make me feel helpless and there is not a damn thing that I can do about it. I feel like I am yelling and nobody can hear me.

Am I just a dreamer and wish for a perfect world? Am I just getting older and wiser and see things clearer now? Does anybody care?

I live in a world
So far from home
Forever silenced
And sentenced to roam

The shackles are locked
And the collar is tight
But nobody hears me
I’m too weak to fight

The stars that once twinkled
Are now dark in the night
And the moon that once shone
No longer gives light

On each sparse tree
No leaf is stirred
And the owls that once played
Can no longer be heard

Far in the distance I can see
A glimpse of weak light
That teases me
I watch it grow then fade away

Like a slippery fish
That just can’t stay
And as I try to struggle free
The chains resist
And strangle me

As I fall back I clearly see
That a single bird
Flies over me
It stops to perch
Upon a stone
And opens its beak
In a sorrowful moan

A sweet sparrow
With no where to go
It lost its path
And became a crow.

(Author unknown)

crow


Helpless

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

7 thoughts on “Helpless on the sideline~!

  1. Not doing anything is the worst feeling and even though you feel nothing will change making your voice heard will always impact on someone who like you needs change to occur. You are right it does seem so overwhelming and we are affronted with the hysteria of giving to those who will only use what we give to profit themselves, but like you I think there are those who do need us to say and to help in whatever way we can. I like the questions you pose.

  2. The Starfish Story

    A young man is walking along the ocean and sees a beach on which thousands and thousands of starfish have washed ashore. Further along he sees an old man, walking slowly and stooping often, picking up one starfish after another and tossing each one gently into the ocean.

    “Why are you throwing starfish into the ocean?,” he asks.

    “Because the sun is up and the tide is going out and if I don’t throw them further in they will die.”

    “But, old man, don’t you realize there are miles and miles of beach and starfish all along it!
    You can’t possibly save them all, you can’t even save one-tenth of them. In fact, even if you
    work all day, your efforts won’t make any difference at all.”

    The old man listened calmly and then bent down to pick up another starfish and threw it
    into the sea. “It made a difference to that one.

    * * * * *
    The smallest thing you do for someone is like a pebble thrown in a pond. It creates a ripple affect that you may never know how far it traveled. That’s really ALL you need to worry about.

    I used to feel so guilty when I’d watch the commercials on TV from places like Christian Children’s Fund trying to raise money to support kids in third-world countries. Everyone said not to give to those organizations because you don’t know where the money goes. We researched several organizations. In the end we began supporting a child through Compassion International. Over the years we supported three, two little girls and a boy that stayed in the program till he was 18. Their names were Belinda, Gladys (who was killed in an earthquake in Brazil), and Leonardo. It was $18 a month that benefited not only them but their families. Seemed like such a small thing to do.

    In the end it opened our hearts to children world wide, and we adopted our daughter from Bangalore, India. You just never know what God can do with those few loaves and fishes. So don’t disparage the small things you ARE capable of doing. They will be blessed, and so will you!

  3. “It’s not enough not to act badly ,you have to make good actions , too” , they say…..

    ……. but won’t things get better if anyone in his/her own just behaved well ?
    The poor can’t give money to the poorer ; ill or weak people can’t help physically their neighbors , but more respect for the others , consideration for the animal and nature , wouldn’t be a good start?

    The poem is very inspiring but how sad!

Leave a Reply

