Meet the three sisters~!

fate

I learned in school about Fate and didn’t really like what I heard. The Moirai or Fates were three goddesses, three sisters, who planned our life. Their names were Clotho, the one who spins the thread of life; Lachesis, she who draws the lots and determines how long one lives, by measuring the thread of life; and Atropos, the inevitable, she who chose how someone dies by cutting the thread of life with her shears. They were often described as being ugly and old women, stern and severe. Three days after a child was born, it was thought that the Moirai would visit the house to determine the child’s fate and life. The Moirai controlled the fates of both, morals and gods alike.

It was pretty self explaining to me, Fate was beyond the control of mortals. Although, fate is very negative and boring, it gives me a life that I can live without any effort. I can just lean back and let things happen. Why bother?

Then there is destiny, my own destiny. It’s my potential waiting to happen. The goals I set, the choices I make.  Why settle for ordinary, if you can be extraordinary? While settle for normal, when a little bit crazy feels so good. 🙂

We all have dreams and wishes; we all see possibilities and envision ourselves in different scenarios. When we take a risk out of our normal life, when we try to reach our potential, that’s when we take control. That’s when we meet destiny.

While I may not have control over the lengths of my thread or the cut at the end, I do have control what I do with it in the meantime.


you-are-the-creator-of-your-own-destiny

Que Sera Sera

Do you believe in fate or do you believe you can control your own destiny?

10 thoughts on “Meet the three sisters~!

  1. Excellent post… I have once posted about the Moirae and I think they are mesmerizing characters… Your insights as to Fate and Destiny reminded me of this quote by Arthur Schopenhauer: ” “Man can do what he wills but he cannot will what he wills”. (“On the Freedom Of the Will” 1839).
    Love and betstwishes! Aquileana 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

