Mathematics and Boxing Gloves~!

boxing gloves

My first crush, oh my Gosh I remember it so well. I came home and I was mad. An older boy had pushed me and when I got up complaining about it, he had pushed me again. We were working in the fields and I didn’t stop talking about it. 

Other kids were there and an older boy looked at me and said, “You have to learn how to fight” and I was in awe. He was almost an adult -in my eyes- and I was stunned, that he was even listening to my ramblings.

I was 7 years old and he was 14, his name was Luca. I remember that I was wondering, if he would always be double my age. How about if I would be 10, would he be 20? Glad somebody taught me mathematics later on in school, as you can see it was needed.

Luca stopped at our farm later on that day and told my Grandmother that he would teach me how to fight; she was all for it, what surprised me. We all met at a neighbor’s farm a few days later, it was time for me to learn how to fight. All the kids stood in a circle and they told me the rules, rules that I never forgot.

  1. If you really ever have to hit someone, make sure you land the first punch.
  2. Never hit someone who is down on the ground.
  3. Fight fair.

Luca showed me what to do, if one would push me again. How to fight back, if one would attack me…all in fistfight style. One day he even let me wear old gloves.

He was my childhood hero and I had an unbelievable crush on him. For years he protected me, like I was his little sister and I admired him like a God. Oh, how much I loved him.

He left our small village a few years later and I felt so sad. Eventually I got over it and life continued. I grew up myself and the last time I saw Luca was at his Father’s funeral…a few years later.

If I saw him today I would hug him and tell him “Thank you”. He showed me how to defend myself a little bit and it gave me confidence all through my life. I never had to hit anybody, but I always felt that I could. That made all the difference in the world.

I would like to finish this post with a song, a song from a singer called Heintje, who is totally unknown here in the U.S.

He and his music was part of my childhood and I have never heard a voice like this again. He was my second crush, back then when i was a little girl.


 

First Crush

Who was your first childhood crush? What would you say to that person if you saw him/her again?

12 thoughts on “Mathematics and Boxing Gloves~!

  1. He had a lovely voice. I’ve often wondered how the young singers of my growing up years (I guess that would be the stars of the Mickey Mouse Club here) compare to some of the kids that are singing these days on shows like America’s?Britain’s Got Talent. When you compare old pictures from 100 years ago with pictures of the same age people from today, they look so different. So I wonder if they sound different, too.

    That was a terrific story. And I love the name Luca. Bare Naked in Public’s grandson is named Luca if I remember right.

  2. I too had a neighbour boy next door, 6 years older than me, who also taught me a lot. And when he left as he was going into the army I really longed back to the times when he was around

Leave a Reply

