Like a Bear in Heat~!

bears

My sleep pattern was always a little bit weird and I never really had an explanation. I woke up numerous times during the night and just couldn’t go back to sleep, no matter how hard I tried.

My husband always snored or made funny noises during the night, something that I never got used to. I could sleep with it, but wasn’t able to fall back asleep while listening to it. There wasn’t a night when I didn’t tell him to “roll over.”

I just thought it was a part of me and a part of my life. I got up in the middle of the night when normal people were still sleeping and I started working. 3 am or 4 am was a normal time for me. I never felt well rested, was tired in the evening, but still didn’t go to bed and continued watching TV with my husband.

Then, last year, when I got sick I moved into the guestroom for a couple of weeks. The first nights felt odd, I wasn’t used to sleeping alone and then, after a few nights I slept. I slept like a baby and didn’t want to get up in the morning.

I moved back into our master bedroom and found myself haunted by my old sleeping routine.

I know I am a very light sleeper and having the love of my life snoring beside me like a bear in heat, just didn’t help.

Our guestroom is now my bedroom. He doesn’t have to listen to “roll over” anymore and I sleep all through the night. I wake up in the morning well rested and full of energy.

Nothing else has changed in our relationship, we just sleep better~!

images (29)

The Young and the Rested

When was the last time you felt truly rejuvenated and energized? What made you feel that way?

19 thoughts on “Like a Bear in Heat~!

  1. My husband works third shift (10pm-7am) and my hours are the typical 7am-4pm, so there’s our reason for not sleeping together – even on the weekends, Jim’s body clock forces him to have the third shift schedule. But because his body thrashes around in his sleep and I snore like a freight train, we even get 2 double beds in our hotel room whenever we travel… we even have separate bedrooms at home because I like my bed much better than his! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Lordy! Ditto! We are in the process of trying to make that decision now — to move or not to move. i hate the idea of sleeping apart, but I was just diagnosed with Adrenal Fatigue Syndrome, and part of the treatment is sleep, sleep, SLEEP!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It felt weird at first. I haven’t slept alone in decades, ever since we got married. I am a light sleeper and my husband is not capable of being quiet. He thinks he is, but he isn’t. He gets up…I hear it. He goes to the bathroom…I hear it. He tosses himself around in bed…I hear it. Now it’s different, we still snuggle and cuddle, nothing changed there, but we both sleep better and undisturbed.

      Like

  3. Broken sleep seems to be a norm for us as we age. So many people I know have the same issues and if sleeping in separate rooms enables you to wake up better rested then that’s what you have to do. Afterall you can snuggle back into his bed or him into yours as the dawn breaks…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My late husband and I did the same. He slept in the guest room and I had the master bedroom. People thought it strange and not normal. But both of us liked the arrangement and rested better except for the last two years of his life when he wouldn’t sleep without me. Sheen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I fear that might be the future for me and the hubs too. His snoring keeps me awake all too often and I’m already fatigued by the fibromyalgia. Blah! I can hear through even the best of the earplugs so that’s not an option.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That has worked for a lot of people. Garry can’t hear me at night with his hearing aids out … and he doesn’t snore. I just wake up about 4 hours after I fall asleep. It doesn’t seem to matter when I go to sleep. Four hours, tops six, and that’s it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

