Share your world!~ Week #36

foxglove spires interior 0058

If you were a pen, what type, style and color would you be?

Wow, what a question. I was thinking about all the pens there are. Ink pens, pencils and colored pens. I think I would be a permanent marker. Something that you just can’t erase, no matter how hard you try. I like that~!

How many languages do you you speak?

7 and it’s sounds more impressive than it is. I studied languages and worked as a translator and interpreter for many years. I grew up bilingual (Italian and German), then in school we got tortured with Latin and Old Greek. After I survived that, I was allowed to pick the 3rd language in 7th grade. I picked French over English, because I knew I would never use English (one of my many misconceptions in life). After meeting my American knight-in-shining-armor, I decided that English might come in handy in my new life.

I learned Hindi, because it was the language of my choice (long story) and I am trying to figure Spanish out right  now -not very successful I might ad.

Are you a listener or talker?

I am a talker, a rambler. I retired from my career a few years ago and decided to make my hobby my living. I work alone in my workshop during the day, more or less in silence, if I don’t talk to myself or with the dogs. I make up for it in the evenings and on weekends, the balance to a silent workweek.

I love to talk about everything and anything. I don’t have a filter between brain and tongue, so I can be very entertaining -so I have been told. But…I am although a good listener. I don’t just hear…I listen~!

Rather Have:  Which would you rather have, 2 million dollars or true love? 

Well, I found true love many years ago and we are happily married, so bring on the money, we want to retire in a few years and I have a few good ideas how to spend it.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week was a whirlwind of emotions. A good friend passed away and even though it wasn’t unexpected -because she was very old- it hurt at first. Now, in retrospect I just feel very grateful, that I got to know her as well as I did. She is one of my role models and not knowingly taught me how to grow old gracefully. She always said “A wrinkled face and a walker is only an obstacle if you let it be one.” 

This week I am looking forward to open windows. It is going to be cooler by the end of the week, summer is over, the A/C will be turned off and the windows in the bedroom will be open during the night. Can’t wait to snuggle under my comforter and have only my nose sticking out. 🙂

dagobert

This weeks Share your world #36 at Cee’s blog, more can be found >>>here<<<

17 thoughts on “Share your world!~ Week #36

  1. If I were going to be a pen it would probably be the old quill. Big dark ink blotches all over my blogs.

    You must have attended good schools to have access to all your language learning, good for you.

    “You said I don’t just hear…I listen~!” That makes you a rare person indeed.
    I like reading your work

    Like

  2. Yes, it is well known that an education in a single language only, is a handicap. This why the Syrians are such good people to give a home to. Many speak several languages and are well educated. After arrival as a fifteen year old Dutchman in Australia I was amazed to find out my English was at times better that that of the locals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marilyn from Serendipity asked me that ones “why is your English better than that of people who were born here”. I said, it’s because you will be as strong or as weak in your second language, as you are in your mother tongue. If you suck in your own, first language, then you will suck in every other language you learn. And..if you are good and very articulate, then you won’t stop learning, until you will talk the same way in every other language as well.

      I wish from the bottom of my heart, that we here in the USA would open our doors to the refugees from Syria. I hope we will.
      We would be more than willing to take a family in..in a heartbeat~!

      Like

  3. I agree 7 languages is very impressive. I was taught Latin in High School such that I could pass an exam at the end. Now days I speak two languages, English and Australian, which is a form of bad English, crikey mate but it is…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

