California toward Death-with-Dignity~!

3487476

In a landmark victory for supporters of assisted suicide, the California State Legislature on Friday gave its final approval to a bill, that would allow doctors to help terminally ill people end their lives. California would be the fifth state, beside Vermont, Montana, Washington and Oregon to allow people to have a choice.

It would allow doctors to prescribe life-ending medication to terminal ill patients. If you go around and you ask people my age and older, if they are afraid of death, most of them will say “No, not at all,” and that goes for me to. As I wrote last week, death doesn’t scare me, it is just a part of life. However, the way I might die, well, that’s a different story. That scares me a whole lot. I want to die in my sleep or during making love to my husband, but chances for both are pretty slim.

Chances however, that I might be kept alive by machines are high. Modern medicine can be evil, when it comes to prolonging death, because if life is not livable, than you don’t prolong life…you actually prolong death.

I watched my Sister-in-law dying last year and the active dying process took a long time and was horrible to witness. She lived in the wrong state and wasn’t allowed to die with dignity, even though she asked for it the last months before her death, when she was still able to talk. “Please, let me go,” was her plea, but we were not allowed to help her.

I have generally been in favor of the dying-with-dignity-laws. I don’t like the idea that someone else -and that includes government and any religion- is allowed to control my life and that part of my life that we call death.

It’s my life, it should be my choice and that’s all what dying-with-dignity really is. It eases peoples mind, gives them a choice.

Death-with-dignity laws are voluntary. An eligible person can request the prescription, but no doctor is obligated to provide it. Once a prescription is written, the patient chooses when and whether to fill it – or take it. Most people never take it. Simply having the choice provides people a sense of peace in the face of uncertainty and fear that their suffering might be unbearable. It allows people the freedom to die in control, with dignity.

One day I hope this law will finally pass in all states, so neither one of us will have to fear for our dignity anymore.

In loving memory of my Sister-in-law and of Brittany Maynard, who supported the death-with-dignity-movement at the end of her young life, at a time when I need to hear about it.

9 thoughts on “California toward Death-with-Dignity~!

  1. With just a little time left, why not to give these people something that makes them feel better – a choice. How can we judge is it a prematurely or a timely chosen death? There is only one person in the whole world who knows. If she said it was a time to go, so it was. Having this choice is a great comfort.

  2. A great post. Being Dutch where the matter of a choice to die has worked very well for some decades. There hasn’t been a rush of people seeking death before life as predicted by the anti-choice mob, nor that people sought death prematurely. Pallitative care in Holland is very good.

    • I think that’s what puts peoples mind at ease, knowing that they have the choice. This way they can enjoy the last days, weeks or months without wondering about the end and the pain they will have to endure.
      I would like to have this choice, if I am not allowed to die in my sleep

  3. You know, I’ve really been on the fence about this whole subject, but your third paragraph up there about machines prolonging death not life hit me between the eyes. You’ve given me a lot to think about.

    • If you can, get you a glass of wine and watch a documentary that’s called “How to die in Oregon”.
      It was on HBO years ago, I remember it well. My husband was already in bed and sat up and started watching it. I turned it off when I realized that this was not a movie, this was real. I took a few minutes to think about it and then I continued watching. I have been a big supporter of dying with dignity ever since. I firmly believe in treating people the way I want to be treated. So, how can I deny people the right to die with dignity, if that’s what I wish for myself?

Leave a Reply

