I hope you dance~!

energizers

The daily prompt is asking about my daily ritual, you mean there is something else, than reading blogs like it would be the Holy Grail?  I have a ritual, a daily routine that I do, because it balances me. It helps me to be the person I want to be.

Have you ever seen that commercial with the Energizer bunny? The poor bunny that runs and runs, hitting his little drum, without any focus. That would be me. I can run around like a bouncy ball all day long, more or less out of whack, from one task to the next, while wondering what I just did.

I get up every morning and I turn on the music and I dance. I dance in my room all by myself. You see, I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, a nasty little disease that attacks the joints around my bones. Every morning I wake up stiff and sometimes I even wake up hurting and in pain, depending on what I ate the day before. “Do some exercise” I have been told, but it’s hard to get going when you are hurting. I tried walking on my treadmill for an hour, but it bored me…it bored me endlessly. I know it’s important, but it’s just no fun. So instead I dance to the music of my choice and I have a good time, while I get going. Try to hold your feet still while you listen to Barry White, I tried. I can’t do it, it makes me wanna dance. 🙂

Then when warmed up I sit down breath and I mediate. Meditation is not a part of any religion, it is a science a precise technique for resting the mind and attaining a state of consciousness, that is totally different from the normal waking state.  In meditation, you are fully awake and alert, but your mind is not focused on the external world or on the events taking place around you. Meditation requires an inner state that is still and one-pointed so that the mind becomes silent. When the mind is silent and no longer distracts you, meditation deepens.

That’s when my inner bunny stops running…that’s how I get ready for the day.

I can’t believe I am sharing this~!


Daily Ritual

Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us: why do you do what you do? How did you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it?

15 thoughts on “I hope you dance~!

  1. I’m very glad you did share this. I so relate to the bunny part, and I LOVE to exercise by keying up favorite songs on YouTube and dancing to them. Can’t quiet my mind either. RA is no fun. Treated many folks with it back in my hospital-workin’ days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was very tempted to say that I used to wake-up stiff, but not anymore. But I won’t. I suffer a bit from that as well but found that using Sally Awe’s Tiger Balm helps and so does not eating certain foods. Certailly not grape fruit!
    Dancing always helps, no matter what. A great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

