It feels like a Thousand Bucks~!

images (31)

The last months have been hard financially, we had unplanned repairs and expenses left and right, we just couldn’t catch a break. Every time we thought we were caught up, something else happened and things that we had planned or wished for had to be postponed again and again.

My husband wanted a notebook and I wanted a good digital camera since month, but we couldn’t make it happen, other things were more important.

Once in a while people forget that I am the owner of my little shop and I get a tip from customers; mostly $10 or $20. It doesn’t happen too often, but when it does, then I try to do something special with it.

Sometimes I donate it or I buy me a plant or a bunch of flowers. This week I got a $10 tip and I decided to buy me a scratch off. I only buy a lottery ticket, when the jackpot is so high, that buying a ticket becomes mandatory and I consider scratch off’s a waste of money, but what the heck, it was my tip and I decided to blow it.

I couldn’t believe my eyes, when a number matched and it showed $500 as the price and I almost got a heart attack, when another number matched and showed another $500.

I was sitting in my car and looked around in disbelieve; I just won $1,000 and it didn’t feel real. I went back into the store and wanted to cash the ticket in. The price was too high, I had to fill out a claim form and then they sent me to a bank just a few blocks down. I went in and came out with the cash just a few minutes later. Now it felt real.

September 27 001

The copy of my ticket hangs now in the grocery store where I bought it from, to proof that some people get lucky once in a while.

Some of the money was spent on us, some was used to help people in need and I bought me the camera I had on my wish list.

 nikon

It does feel like a thousand bucks 🙂 🙂 🙂

21 thoughts on “It feels like a Thousand Bucks~!

  1. That’s a nice camera! What great luck you had! Did you tip the person who sold you the ticket? Spread the luck around? I sold a $50,000 ticket to a woman and I would have never known if she hadn’t come in and told me. Did she tip me? Not a penny. It doesn’t have to be much, like $5 or $10, then the person can try their own luck on the lottery. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a blessing! You’re the first person I’ve ever know whose won more than $20! Nikons are great cameras. Drollery loves his. If you ever want to play around with filters, get a starlight filter. They’re so much fun. You can do beautiful things with them. And congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So is that your new baby? You went with a nikon superzoom? I don’t know anything about it, but Nikon is a pretty good company, so I’m going to wish you the absolute best and hope you’ll have a wonderful time!

    $1000 on a scratch ticket … I’d probably have fainted dead away!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I could have handled a bigger win, my heart was pounding pretty loud. I have never won anything, so it’s big.
      I chose the camera because it was on sale (I am still cheap) and I thought it would be nice to start with something like that. Although, I can take panoramic pictures, what will be so great when I have to take pictures of projects that are bigger.
      I am very excited and hope I will learn quickly and if not, then I know a lady who can answer all my questions 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

