Stepping of the Treadmill – Good bye Daily prompt~!

images (32)

This is my answer to Impromptu promptlings Sandbox writing challenge, “What are they hearing about me?”

They will hear that I am done with the daily prompt’s.

When I started blogging I only wrote about smoking and about how I felt, after I had kicked the addiction to the curb, because it was very important to me.

I never thought that I would write about me or my life, mainly because I don’t think that I am that interesting. It’s like going to the bookstore and grabbing a biography from someone you have never heard of. Chances are you will put the book right back in the shelf and you will continue to look for are more interesting one, preferably from a person you have actually heard about.

That was pretty much my thinking, “Why would strangers want to know more about me?” So, I kept it pretty vague.

I found the daily prompts a few months after I started blogging and I was fascinated by it. Every morning there was a prompt, a new challenging question that we all answered. I enjoyed reading what others had to say, as much as I enjoyed writing about it.

That is not the case anymore. The enjoyment is long gone. It’s no fun to answer the same questions over and over, even though the daily prompt is indeed a good fishing ground for more readers and followers.

But then, I am not a writer; I don’t even pretend to be one. I am a story teller, like in the old days, when they went from village to village and sat down by the fire and they were telling stories, about what they had witnessed and what they had seen.

I think the prompts helped me to understand that about myself. Although, I realized that some people actually were interested in my life, they listened to what I had to share and came back for more.

What started out as therapy when I quit smoking, became a hobby of mine, I started to share more about my childhood and the wonderful woman who raised me. Many posts are about my Grandmother and her wisdom, other posts are about my childhood on a farm between Austria and Italy.

I was hiding behind the prompts, because I thought I wouldn’t find enough interesting “stuff” to write about. The daily prompt was my permission slip for writing…if that makes any sense.

Prompts are a valuable exercise, but it’s like going on a treadmill every day; there will come a day when you step off that damn thing and you start running on your own.

Maybe they are just a stepping stone, when we don’t really know what we want to write about and a great tool to reach a greater audience.

It was a big help and got me started and now the flood gates are open and there is no holding me back. Thank you daily prompt…well done~!

I have so much on my mind, that I would like to share, so I think I will have a different writing concept from now on and I will not longer depend on old or new prompts. I have a concept on my mind and it looks like I have it (almost) figured out.

Healthy-Monday – because I have a chronic disease, an autoimmune disorder, and I learned so much during the last year, when I decided to take care of myself without any medications.

Book and travel Tuesday – I have seen the word, I have read and translated so many books, many of them aren’t well known in the U.S. so I would like to share some good reads on my blog.

Anecdote Wednesday – because life writes the most amusing and interesting stories.

Coming to America Thursday – because I am a first generation love-immigrant and I would like to share more about how I felt, 30 years ago when I came here.

News and political Friday – because I just can’t help it, they make me write about it.

Smoking Saturday – because there is still so much to say about the addiction and the tobacco industry.

Humorous Sunday – because we just can’t laugh enough and life writes the funniest stories.

I think that’s what you might hear about me and…some other rumors. 🙂

23 thoughts on “Stepping of the Treadmill – Good bye Daily prompt~!

  1. good for you- sounds wonderful and I look forward to reading. Now that I have gone back to work full time- 8-5 I am having a hard time reading everyone’s blogs and writing myself. I attempt to catch up but it is hard. I made a “favorites” group so I just have to click it to see my favorite bloggers in one place which helps- and you are in that list! 🙂

  2. Sounds ambitious. Good luck. I don’t think I could keep up a schedule like that. I’m especially looking forward to your travel section. You’ve been so most of the places I’d love to see 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 10 — What are they hearing about you? | Impromptu Promptlings

  4. Oh! Thank God you’re just reformatting. I was afraid you were going to say you weren’t writing anymore and I would have been so sad. But please, please leave room in your blog for the spontaneous anecdotes you write about. They are always such gems!

    • I was thinking about closing my blog, but I like it too much. I just don’t want to write and answer prompts anymore.

      Anecdotes….Oh Frisbee….I forgot all about that, dangit now I need another day. Yep, need to share some of my anecdotes and travels…Gosh I have to put travels in too.

      Double Frisbee 🙂

      FIXED IT~~~ 🙂

  5. I’m not really into answering the Daily Prompt these days either. The questions are so uninspiring that nothing really pops into my head anymore. I like your schedule. It looks like you have it figure out. I wish I’m that way. Maybe soon.

  6. You make it sound a little bit like taking the training wheels off your bike. You’re ready to go out on your without the help of those little guiding wheels … and you have a road map 🙂
    Good work … looking forward to seeing where your journey takes you!

Leave a Reply

