Counting on you~!

Our-Education-System

Yesterday, on my way home, I stopped at McDonald’s what doesn’t happen often. I wanted something to drink and something small to eat, because my stomach was growling. I ordered a breakfast sandwich and something to drink for me and saw on the menu, that you could have an order of 6, 9 or 12 chicken mcnuggets. I had Patches, our fast growing puppy in the car, so I thought I get her a treat as well.

I ordered half a dozen chicken mcnuggets.

“We don’t have half dozen nuggets,” said the teenager at the counter.

“You don’t?” I replied.

“No, we only have six, nine, or twelve,” was the reply.

“So I can’t order a half dozen mcnuggets, but I can order six?”

“That’s right.”

I shook my head and ordered six chicken nuggets. It’s not like I like rolling my eyes, they make me do it~!

No child left behind

37 thoughts on “Counting on you~!

  1. The youngsters don’t know how to make change. They can’t count. Some of them are merely stupid, but the rest are suffering from the way they teach math these days. The schools are working very hard (failing) to teach kids “theory” but not worrying about whether or not they know how to make change from a dollar. We were having this exact conversation last night. They really have no useful real-world skills. My granddaughter was never taught to tell time either, so when she was in third grade, I bought one of those wooden clocks and taught her myself. Before that, she couldn’t tell time unless it was digital.

    Oh, they don’t teach penmanship anymore, either. Or punctuation. Or grammar.

  2. These are our leaders of tomorrow!! Scary! Years ago all money had to be turned in the same direction and on the same side…not so anymore, you are lucky to get it with matched bills together and they use to have to count it back to you.

  3. Counting and subtracting is going out of the door. Ask what happens if you take two apples away from four apples and you would be lucky to get the right answer. That’s what MacDonalds does to you after a while. Another MacDonalds opened here recently. They are also infiltrating schools and sporting organisations.
    We went inside a MacDonatds yesterday to use the toillet. People were queueing up like addicts for daily fix. Some barely able to get out of the car and make it to the entrance. Those that were totally incapacitated drove through the drive-by section to order their triple layered burgers and 2 litre coke.
    Ambulances could be heard in the distance carrying those that succumbed to heart attacks or final stages of diabetes to the hospitals already filled to maximum capacity by MacDonalds victims. Finally a class action against the fast food industry must happen sooner or later.

    World wide over 700 hundred MacDonal;ds are closing. Finally some good news.

    • I have always McDonald’s giftcards in my purse. As much as I hate this place, it’s the only one -here- that allows homeless people into the “restaurant” in the mornings, when they get thrown out of the shelters.

      I didn’t know this for the longest time, until I volunteered. So know I have those giftcards in my purse, so they can get coffee and at least a warm breakfast.

      I don’t like or eat burgers, but like their breakfast biscuits, when I am on the road.

      If you ever fly to Rome, Italy go to the McDonalds down town. It’s unbelievably beautiful. Granite and Brass everywhere and “drum roll” the biggest Salad buffet I have ever seen. The city voted against McDonalds and didn’t give them the permit, until they changed everything and adjusted to Italy and the customers needs.

      As for fast food and why so many people eat it….no idea. I have seriously no idea. It’s harmful, very harmful.

  4. This weekend at the supermarket, my grocery total came to $34.86. I gave the cashier two 20s. She entered the amount and the drawer opened when I handed her a penny so that I would get 4 pennies back. She tried to figure out the correct change to give me, but couldn’t. People on my line were getting frustrated and impatient so I asked for the penny back so that she could give me the amount the register told her to.

    I learned to count back change when I was 8. Sadly I wasn’t taught this in school (1960’s), my mother taught me.

    • I meant so I wouldn’t get 4 pennies back – sorry for the typo. Here I am criticizing someone else and I mad a mistake.

    • That is one of my all time favorite check out games. You can confuse the sh** out of people when you give them bills and change after the register already opened. They so helpless.

      I think I learned it in school. But you know what, times were different then. We had to learn multiplication tables up to 20 and we were tested on it…way before the calculator made it’s way in the classrooms.

    • As a former teacher, I can tell you that it is in the 2nd or 3rd grade math curriculum to teach how to “count back” change. I admit, it has always confused me.(I can figure out change, it’s the counting back that confuses me.) I’ve never been great at math; however, I think I have more math smarts than most MacDonald’s employees! I think they use a cash register with pictures on it to make it easier for them! That way they don’t even have to know how to read or punch in digits!

    • I think it drives us all insane. We have the “no child left behind” policy since 2001. Now every child and every school has the same tests, what is so outrageously insane. Better test results on the paper and in statistics, but less education all together.

      It’s sad…really sad~!

      • Yes, the standardized testing craze would be a joke if it were funny. Instead, it causes undue stress for students and teachers. Now we have a new test, called PARCC – it’s based on the Common Core standards. And the test results have not been good: the first year of PARCC showed scores in math and reading way down from previous years when they had the old test. I am not against Common Core, but I am against this testing insanity. A typical ESL student in 3rd grade has 5 different tests between January and May: First, MAP (a test on the computer, supposed to be a “predictor” of how well they will do on the mandated tests later in spring) – the good thing about this is it gives a score right away and aggregates skill areas; then ACCESS, a standardized test that all English language learners must take – it is quite difficult! – to test their academic English knowledge. Next comes PARCC in March (which is given in two block sessions, so it’s like 2 separate tests!). Then there’s a Spanish test if the students are in a bilingual class, called “Logramos”. Finally, the students take MAP again at the end of the year. By the time the school year is over, the kids are exhausted! The best time of year, though, is after March, when the pressure of the PARCC is over. That’s the time we get to do fun projects.

      • There is this joke going around. “What can you do?” “What do you know”. Answer: “I can take tests.”
        I don’t know who comes up with that, but I think it’s insane.

  5. Laughing and shaking my head at the same time. I was recently at McDonald’s and the person at the counter entered the wrong amount that I gave her. When I handed her back the change and told her she gave me too much she told me that’s what the machine said. I told her it is wrong. She argued with me! She couldn’t understand that she had entered the wrong amount and her drawer was going to be short at the end of her shift. UGH.

    • That could come back to haunt her – if a cashier’s drawer comes up short, the difference is often taken out of the employee’s pay! Maybe she argued with you because it’s too much of a hassle to void the transaction and reenter it.

      • I tried to tell her. As I was telling her that. She couldn’t figure out how much change to give me and I tried to count it out for her to show her but she was frustrated and just asked me to leave. There is only so much you can do. I asked for the manager but at the drive thru one never came.

    • Everyone laments that students aren’t being “taught anything” these days. Please don’t blame the teachers! They do the best they can with the curriculum and demands that are imposed on them. It’s not their decision, for example, not to teach cursive. There’s no time for it in the school day anymore, so administration figures it’s dispensable because they are going to learn how to type on the computer. Cursive writing, however, has advantages that go beyond simply a fast way to write by hand. It’s not teachers’ fault that they can never, I mean NEVER, get through the entire math curriculum in one year. They try to cram the most tested skills in before standardized testing season, then go back to pick up the other, less tested, skills. I could not tell you what the last chapters in the math curriculum are about, because I never once got to them. And teachers get too little time for collaboration, which studies show is very important for improving one’s practice. Yet, people scream and yell that teachers are pampered and get paid too much money – after all, they only work 6 hours a day, 5 days a week, and they get their summers off, right???

      • I don’t blame the teachers, I blame the system, the whole system. I wish I would have something to say, or that I would be in a position to make suggestions. There wouldn’t be home schooling (what nonsense that is) or substitute teachers.
        Being a teacher is a touch job. It doesn’t end after school, there is so much preparation to do.

      • Thank you for the well enunciated points. It’s just a sorry shame the rate at which academic levels are dropping. The classrooms are crammed full, there is hardly enough time to cover the syllabus, teachers are underpaid, insufficient resources and in some cases, parents don’t help matters. I guess we shouldn’t complain as we reap the dividends of the seeds that we sow.

  6. I SO know what you’re talking about. My son works at Bed Bath & Beyond and is involved in helping train the new hires. He’s 37 and is CONSTANTLY floored at their lack of fundamental knowledge. He came home shaking his head a while back about one little gal who has to count on her fingers to give change. She’s in her first year of college. That whole “No child left behind” policy was flawed from the beginning. All it’s done is dumb down this nation. We used to be a leader in education. A 2009 study found that U.S. students ranked 25th among 34 countries in math and science, behind nations like China, Singapore, South Korea, Hong Kong and Finland. (Huff Post Education) Now we’re not going to require students to learn to write in cursive. Next thing you know they won’t be writing at all! Everyone should read Ayn Rand’s novella “Anthem.” That’s where we’re headed. Ooo! You hit one of my soapbox topics this morning, Bridget!

    • First of all, the U.S. has never been the leader in education. That’s a myth that we have been told. I came here in the early 80’s and I was suppose to be in my 2rd semester in college. They put me right away in the 4th semester. I could easily continue my studies here, the other way around it’s not that easy. The school system in Europe is much harder and tougher. Not everybody is college “material” something that we have to learn quickly.

      Every chain is as weak as the weakest link. The “no child left behind” policy was and is a joke, it made us weaker.

      • This is true. I had friends in school that had spent years abroad, and they skipped grades when they came to the U.S. Also, some of the material taught in colleges here is taught in high school in other countries.

Leave a Reply

