Nous Sommes Unis – United we Stand

paris france

Another terror attack against unarmed civilians in Paris, the city of love. Once again I watch the news and have tears in my eyes, I feel anger and I feel helpless.

Innocent people were enjoying a Friday night with family and friends, they went to a concert, they wanted to see a soccer game, they went out to eat after a long work week and they were brutally attacked and killed.

This is an attack on everything beautiful, an attack on innocent people, an attack on all of us.

The Vatican called it “an attack on peace for all humanity” and said “a decisive, supportive response” was needed “on the part of all of us as we counter the spread of homicidal hatred in all its forms,” and I couldn’t agree with it more.

I visited Paris numerous times, love the city and the people and can not even imagine how they must feel, but I do know that the people in France are strong, they have shown it in the past and they will show it again.

“Do you hear the people sing?” is one of my all time favorite songs from “Les Miserable.” Lets all remember the spirit of this song, the people singing for freedom!  In this case it would be the freedom from terror attacks and fear. I chose this version, because it shows that different nations can come together and sing the same song, even though they don’t speak the same language.

I hope that we all will be able to forget our differences and stand up united “Nous Sommes Unis!”

Do you hear the people sing?
Singing a song of angry men?
It is the music of a people
Who will not be slaves again!
When the beating of your heart
Echoes the beating of the drums
There is a life about to start
When tomorrow comes!

Will you join in our crusade?
Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
Is there a world you long to see?

Then join in the fight
That will give you the right to be free!!

Do you hear the people sing?
Singing a song of angry men?
It is the music of a people

Who will not be slaves again!
When the beating of your heart
Echoes the beating of the drums
There is a life about to start
When tomorrow comes!

Will you give all you can give
So that our banner may advance
Some will fall and some will live
Will you stand up and take your chance?
The blood of the martyrs
Will water the meadows of France!

 

8 thoughts on “Nous Sommes Unis – United we Stand

  1. One of my favorite songs from one of my favorite musicals. I have fought and fought against the mindset that says round ’em all up and put them in containment camps. I’ve read so much about how we did that here in the states during WWII. But I must admit I am beginning to understand the fear that lay behind such action. The question is not IF there will be another attack, it’s when and where… Scary…

    • I have no idea what you are talking about and what containment camps you might have in mind.

      I think the world has to come together and fight an enemy, who threatens as all.

      The problem is the terrorist have nothing to lose, while we have everything to lose.

      • I was referring to how the Japanese were rounded up and put in internment camps during WWII even though they had done nothing and were American citizens. I often fear that the same thing will happen to non-violent Muslims if things continue this way. In the past we’ve fought wars against countries, but it almost feels this time like it’s a war against a people specifically. There’s a good book called The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford that is about those camps. It was a short, but good book.

Leave a Reply

