When Black Fridays were pitch black

black-friday

I remember Black Fridays that were really black, meaning I had to get up in the middle of the night, when it was pitch black outside. We had to get up that early, so that we arrived at the mall right before it opened. We had to do that, so we could hamster door prices that we didn’t need to begin with.

My best friend talked me into it year after year; she could talk me into anything. I remember it so well. Some years we stood in line in ice and snow, all because some flyers had promised us the ultimate gift and the ultimate savings. They bribed us with gift certificates and gift bags and we fell for it (well I didn’t, she did and she made me come with her).

I am tall, so she used me as windbreaker and I could feel her snuggled up against my back. I loved my friend, but there were times, when she made me question my sanity and waiting in line, in front of a store in the middle of the night, was one of these moments.

One year was particularly comical, because she got our spouses involved (no telling how she accomplished that).

We started early -as usual- but had to meet our husbands at 6 am sharp in front of a well known electronic store. There was a queue of people around the building and we waited patiently for our turn. It wasn’t much better inside. We all grabbed what we could –you can’t be picky at times like that- and then we tried to locate the end of the queue of people, who were standing in line to check out. The line seemed endless and started on the other side of the building, as far away from the check out register as it could be.

black friday

Why did we do all that? Because they were selling DVD’s and Video tapes for a ridiculous amount of money and we just couldn’t resist. We didn’t just stand in line, we lived in that line for about 3 hours and shared our life stories with the people in front of us and felt pity for the idiots behind us.

The line moved toward the computer department and there was a guy offering a super deal on laptops. My husband’s eyes started sparkling, “Look Honey,” he said and I just nodded. I was too tired to speak and really didn’t give a damn.

We left the store about 11 am that day with DVD’s and a laptop that wasn’t that cheap after all, because we had to pay extra for all kind of stuff. But WTH it was still a good deal wasn’t it?

We drove to a nearby Mexican restaurant that we all loved. We parked the cars right when they opened for lunch; we barely made it to the table. Neither one of us said a word, we just sat there like a bunch of sleepwalkers.

“What can I offer you to drink?” the waitress asked when she gave us the menus and we ordered 2 Bloody Mary’s for the guys and two gigantic Margaritas for us. I think that was the only time in my life, when I had an alcoholic drink during the daytime.

My husband and I arrived back home around 1 pm and we went straight to bed, didn’t even unpack our goodies. We slept for the rest of the day until it was time for dinner. 🙂

Black Friday is different these days. It’s still dark outside, but cozy and warm inside. I can stay in my Pajamas and fly with my mouse from webpage to webpage. Automatic coupons and free shipping make my life as easy as it gets; I can shop until I drop all day long in the comfort of my own home.

Life is easier these days, but the old, crazy days, when the Black Fridays were pitch black, those days were worth writing about.

black friday margarita

11 thoughts on “When Black Fridays were pitch black

  1. I admire your tenacity. I’ve never gone shopping on Black Friday and will never be able to talk about the experience. I have a deep-seated discomfort of crowds {ok – I’ll even admit to a couple of spectacular meltdowns} and there isn’t a deal in the world worth going to a store on Black Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like your friend missed her opportunity to make millions selling things on late night TV. I’ve never waited on a Black Friday sales line, but I’ve waited for airplanes that apparently had to be rebuilt before flying into London, waited once for 12 hours on the line for the ferry leaving Martha’s Vineyard after Thanksgiving. It got to be a very congenial experience, all of us, trapped in that line. I hope I never have to do it again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • My friend was crazy, I guess that’s one of the reasons I miss her so much. Crazy in a very nice way.

      Oh Gosh don’t get me started on waiting at the airports. I spend a day in Switzerland because of a delayed flight. They gave us a coupon every 3 hours, so we could eat for free in the restaurants. I gained 10 pounds on one day…we were all so bored.

      Like

  3. Till, a few days ago I always thought black friday was an historical event when hundreds of people lost their houses in a very bad bush-fire. It turns out there was some fighting in the US shown on a video clip of buyers climbing over each other to get a bargain.
    ‘The spirit of Christmas?’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Black Friday is something that is shocking for anybody who is not from the U.S. so is the whole Christmas deal.

      I think I was under Christmas shock when I came here 30 years ago and it hasn’t ever really stopped.

      Black Friday has helped me to give to people in need for many years, because I saved so much money.

      Regardless how much money we had, we always tried to help a family in need who had kids.

      Videos, Dolls, CD’s and other things were always on Santa’s list.

      I

      Like

  4. When I hear stories like that I’m kind of glad I didn’t place so much emphasis on gift giving. ThReaat kind of thing would have worn me the hell out! My sister did it from time to time before her hubby got caner. But the last four a five years she’d get home and find the prices on the internet were just as competitive and wished she’d done that instead. Read an article the other day that said Black Friday is on its way out for that very reason. The stores around here were VERY slow on Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

