Dear Santa! Please don’t bring me a puppy for Christmas, bring it forever~!

December 9th 002

“Why is this chair a No-No? It’s perfect to look out of the window. Humans don’t make any sense.” 🙂

“What a cute commercial! Look Mom, the kids got a puppy for Christmas.”

Every year I see a  commercial like that on TV and every year I flinch. I flinch, because it’s the time of the year again, when many children ask for a puppy for Christmas and I don’t blame them.

Kids and puppies, that’s a match made in heaven, but it doesn’t always work like that.

Don’t get me wrong. There are many responsible parents out there, who plan the arrival of the new four-legged family member since months. They thought it all through. They know the little puppy will grow; they know it will have to be trained. They are responsible and they act responsible.

But often, way too often, a little puppy is being put under the tree and what started as a Christmas miracle, ends up as a total disaster. Not for the family…but for the dog.

Shelters will be overflowing with dogs before summer, it’s every year the same. You just don’t buy a puppy, you sign an invisible contract to shelter the dog for the rest of it’s life. At least that’s the way it should be.

I see all the advertisements for the “Christmas puppies” on Craigslist and similar websites and my heart goes out to the puppies and dogs who sit in the shelters right now.

I wish every dog would find a home not just for Christmas, but a forever home. As so often, that’s just wishful thinking.


My family brought me home today cradled in their arms.
They cuddled me and laughed and said I was full of charm.

They played with me and laughed with me and showered me with toys.
I sure do love my family, especially the little girls and boys.

The children loved to feed me, they gave me special treats.
They even let me sleep with them…under the sheets.

I used to go for walks, several times a day.
They would fight for turns to hold me, I am proud to say.

These are things I will not forget…a cherished memory.
I now live in a shelter…without my family.

They used to laugh and praise me when I played with the shoe.
But I didn’t know the difference between the old one and the new.

The kids and I would grab a rug, and we would play tug and tug.
So I thought it was OK when I chewed the bedroom rug.

They said I was out of control and would have to live outside.
This I didn’t understand, although I surely tried.

The walks stopped, one by one, they said they didn’t have the time.
I wish I could change things, but I DIDN’T KNOW MY CRIME.

My life became so lonely in the yard alone on a chain,
I barked and barked all day to keep from going insane.

So they brought me to a shelter, and embarrassed to say why,
They said I caused an allergy, and kissed me good-bye.

If only they had trained me when I was a pup,
I wouldn’t have been so hard to handle when I was grown up.

“YOU ONLY HAVE ONE DAY LEFT” I heard a worker say,
Does that mean I get a second chance” Do I go home today?


RESCUE A DOG, THEY NEED YOU AND YOU NEED THEM!

We just rescued a puppy a few months back and she is now the star in our home. Our older dogs are as much in love as we are. As you can see at the above picture, I am not sure who trains who, but I still want to believe it’s me who trains the puppy. We just have to get the chair-thing down. 🙂

Watch this shelter dogs reaction when he realizes he has been adopted.

17 thoughts on “Dear Santa! Please don’t bring me a puppy for Christmas, bring it forever~!

  1. I hear the same stories from a friend who works in a shelter. The same sad situation applies to kittens … and at Easter, to baby chicks and bunnies. Unfortunately pets are considered disposable when they become inconvenient.

    My big furball, Theo, is a rescue cat and he couldn’t be more adorable and lovable. I encourage everyone who wants a pet to visit a shelter and NOT the puppy mills, pet stores etc.

  2. Such a sad end for so many pets, not just dogs. We have two rescues…the latest in a long history of dog-loves. With us until the end, of course. Congrats on your new family member and knowing what love is 🙂

  3. That video is making the rounds in social media. I think this is the third time I’ve seen it posted somewhere just today. Is it sad that all I can think is, “I hope they have the energy for this dog or it’s going to end up right back in this shelter.”? I mean, the poor thing really needs to run and get the energy out, he’s choking himself on the leash, and that’s not good.

    I agree, buying a puppy for Xmas isn’t good either. Our dogs are rescue dogs and I’m absolutely sure that our older dog was simply put in the back yard and forgotten for the first year or so of her life. It’s just sad what people will do to dogs. When we first adopted her, she didn’t know how to walk on a leash at all. But after three years, she’s doing a lot better with everything.

    • We adopted a pit bull mix 11 years ago. He was as hyper as the dog in the video. The first night with him was a nightmare. He jumped on the coffee table, he run through the house, he was bouncing of the walls.

      It went on for about a week, then he understood that he didn’t have to go back to the kennel anymore. He became the best dog I ever had and I hope he will be with us for many years to come (but I know it won’t be).

      Merry Christmas Willow to you and yours.

  4. Bonnie was a Christmas puppy … not because I wanted a pup for Christmas, but because she needed a home right then and there, so she got us. So far, so good.

    Christmas in this region is an awful time to get a puppy. It’s cold and snowy. I remember trying to housebreak Bonnie in -10 degrees with driving snow piling up around my hips. Bonnie was fine. She still loves snow. There she was, bounding around at three in the morning while I stood there bundled in my heaviest winter coat over pajamas, snow higher than my boots, begging her to “Please go, Bonnie. Please. Mommie’s freezing.” She was merciless and SO happy 🙂

    • We are still debating if Patches is a dog or not. We do think she is a reincarnated comedian. She is a funny puppy and we have a good time with her. BUT..she is a handful right now. She is going to be 7 months old and right now she is testing the water a bit.

      I wrote this post, because I know I will be asked to foster a “Christmas accident” in a few months…wanna bet?

Leave a Reply

