Not looking for flaws, but for potential

potential 2

We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives…not looking for flaws, but for potential.
– Ellen Goodman

It’s true isn’t it? Many of us will start the New Year with a list of things we want to change about ourselves. Quit smoking- Exercise more – Loose 20 pounds….many things will be written down. All of them will better us, at least that’s the idea behind all the New Year’s resolution.

We are our own, worst critic. We know all our flaws and mistakes by heart and we can list them- point by point.

I don’t have New Year’s resolutions anymore, the whole concept never worked for me. I was full of good plans and broke them all within the first week of January. I truly believe there is a right time for everything. We will quit smoking and we will loose the 20 pounds, when we are ready. It will happen when the time is right; it will happen because we want to, not because we feel we have to.

I like the idea to walk through the room of our lives and seeing the potential, rather than the flaws. What a marvelous idea it is. Why don’t we all make a Potential list for the upcoming New Year and forget about New Year’s resolutions?

I started to think about it last night and I sat there with a blank page for quite some time. Writing a list with all my flaws would have been so much easier. Thinking about my potential, that was so much harder.

It took me some time, but I finally wrote “My Potential List” and some of it actually surprised me.

We all have so much potential and we should never forget that~!

potential

16 thoughts on “Not looking for flaws, but for potential

  1. So very true.. Yes our potential is great May we each find the strength within to dig deeper and find our hidden strengths as we out our weaknesses..
    Lovely Post.
    Wishing you a Blessed Happy 2016 and Beyond my friend.. Love and Light Sue xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I learnt that a lot of times destiny or fate arrange things in spite of my interaction or control……
    I always try to do my best but never demand too much or try to change the course of life…and I’m living better now!
    Happy, happy, happy 2016 , for you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know anyone who makes formal “resolutions.” I think we have all learned that “big plans” tend to vanish with the champagne bubbles as soon as the new year begins. So I’m just going to wish you a grand new year in which your fondest dreams will come true.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right now I just wish not to be mad and not to be sad. I am lashing out and I misbehave because I feel so sad. I finally decided to write about it, even though I might not post it.

      I wish you and Garry a marvelous New Year, may you have lots of joy and lots of laughter and please be healthy…both of you

      Like

  4. Love this. I was thinking the other day that I was sick of thinking of myself as a home improvement project every year. Potential is a much better idea. Consider posting this at the Senior Salon tomorrow. People need to understand that we need to actualize our potential for enjoyment and creativity in this portion of our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

