And the stars look very different today

david bowie 2

RIP David Bowie

David Bowie was one of my hero’s, I grew up with his music. I used his music lyrics to learn English and he challenged me quite a bit. He was an icon, a genius. He was excellent, because he was not afraid to be different. He pushed the boundaries and showed us the future.

Ground Control to Major Tom
Ground Control to Major Tom
Take your protein pills and put your helmet on

Ground Control to Major Tom
Commencing countdown, engines on
Check ignition and may God’s love be with you

Ten, Nine, Eight, Seven, Six, Five, Four, Three, Two, One, Lift-off

This is Ground Control to Major Tom
You’ve really made the grade
And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear
Now it’s time to leave the capsule if you dare

This is Major Tom to Ground Control
I’m stepping through the door
And I’m floating in a most the peculiar way
And the stars look very different today

For here
Am I sitting in a tin can
Far above the world
Planet Earth is blue
And there’s nothing I can do

Though I’m fast one hundred thousand miles
I’m feeling very still
And I think my spaceship knows which way to go
Tell my wife I love her very much (she knows!)
Ground Control to Major Tom
Your circuit’s dead, there’s something wrong
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you hear….

Here am I floating ’round my tin can
Far above the Moon
Planet Earth is blue
And there’s nothing I can do

Lyrics “Spade Oddity”


10 thoughts on “And the stars look very different today

  1. I’ve probably listened to his duet with Bing Crosby 100 times this season, especially after I posted it on site. Feels very “odd” indeed that he’s suddenly not here anymore…

Leave a Reply

