Share your world 2016 Week 3

share my world

What is your favorite piece of art? (it doesn’t have to be famous)

I bought this picture at a thrift store, for a the outrages amount of $7. I fell in love with it and it hangs since years in our living room. I wish I could make out the artists signature, because I would like to have more information about the picture and the painter. I think it’s a very unusual piece of art and I would like to know what the painter had in mind. 

share your world 3-7

share your world 3-8

What made you smile today?

I don’t know what hit me yesterday, but I cleaned the whole house -top to bottom- until late at night. Everything is spotless (for the moment).

Today in the morning, when I got up I got me a cup of tea, opened the blinds and when I looked around I smiled. It was a Victory smile, something like “Mission accomplished.” Work is done, house is clean…now we can spend some quality time together, or I finally start the 900-page book that I put on my nightstand months ago.

Which place do you recommend as a Must-See? Please state which country, state or providence.

That made me think hard. I have been very fortunate and traveled all over the globe, even got paid for doing so.

There are actually 3 places that I would consider a Must-See:

  1. Kenya, Africa -It’s the most beautiful country and it made me feel very small and very big at the same time; I have never felt closer to nature anywhere else.
  2. Isle of Crete, Greece – Oh my, where to begin. It’s a gorgeous island that offers everything one can wish for. Beautiful beaches, great food, wonderful people and great hiking spots on top of all. Mt. Ida was the birthplace of Zeus according to Greek mythology. If you plan a vacation in Europe, don’t forget about Greece.
  3. Last but not least my Rome, Italy – That city has something that I never found anywhere else. Maybe it is Fellini’s “Dolce Vita”. If I could choose -and if we would have the money- then I would like to retire in a small house on the outskirts of Rome.

Complete this sentence: When I was younger I used to….

….run all the time. I don’t think I walked too often, I was always running or jumping around. Now I force myself to run on my treadmill and I hate it. 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week was good; I don’t have any complaints. As for next week, I am not sure what I am looking forward to, I just know I feel happy and content and I hope it stays that way.

Thank you for your questions Cee, that was fun as always.

Please go to Cee’s website and join Share the World- 2016 Week 3

 

 

17 thoughts on “Share your world 2016 Week 3

  1. I love the painting! And the travels, would love to go to Kenya, though I’m a bit scared too, and always wanted to go to Greece and Rome! African safaris are the best xx

      • I’m from Africa myself, I believe Kenya is beautiful, but a tourist lodge on the Somalian border was attacked by rebels a while back (I read from the South African news site), so that automatically instilled fear into me. I would still love to go there some time it does sound beautiful. I also have friends running a beach guest house in Mozambique so would like to go there too! South Africa is dangerous though, and it’s my home country. I took my kids back in 2014 but I’m scared to go back. Everyday life is just too dangerous.

  2. I was trying to read the signature on your art because the style looks familiar. If you get a chance and can decipher it, send it to me and I’ll find out who the artist is/was. Or at least, I’ll try.

    I’ve always wanted to visit Kenya. I’ve known a few people from there and it seemed rather magical.

  3. I look forward in finshing my final proof-reading before submitting it to a final editing, after which it will be taking the next step in a long process of publishing.
    My favourite piece of art is Edvart Munch ‘the Scream’. (of course there are many others as well)

  4. So many things in this post have struck me but the running really resonates. I watch children run for the shear joy of it and wish that as an adult we never lost that job and that running became an exercise.

  5. I go through the cleaning phase once in a while. In fact, I just went through that at work, helped my boss re-organize his papers. I know that victory smile. I had that too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

