If I ever leave this world alive…

Flogging Molly

The song title is so appealing to me and I find the lyrics rather uplifting than sad. We all will die one day, that’s a given, but so many of us seem to be living in fear of what will be. 

If I ever leave this world alive…..

Wherever I am you’ll always be
More than just a memory

So when in doubt just call my name
Just before you go insane

Hey I may never leave this world…

For me it means to leave this world happy, regardless of what will come or not come afterwards, because it won’t matter.

It means being happy with what you have done, it means to have completed what you wanted to do and you will leave behind good memories and lasting impressions. It means knowing that your memory will live on in a good way and in many forms.

One of the greatest poems ever written is by Mary Elizabeth Frye

Do not stand at my grave and weep

Do not stand at my grave and weep:
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft starshine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry:
I am not there; I did not die.

For me it’s the same message. Don’t stand there and cry! Don’t grieve, but rather open your eyes let me still be. Frye wrote the poem on a ripped-off piece of a brown grocery bag, in a burst of compassion for a Jewish girl who had fled the Holocaust only to receive news that her mother had died in Germany. The girl was weeping inconsolably because she couldn’t visit her mother’s grave.

“I am not there I did not die”

Yes, I like it.


 

This Is Your Song

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

21 thoughts on “If I ever leave this world alive…

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 9 – “Every Dawn You’re Surprising” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. I was watching Charles Osgood yesterday morning and their was an interview with one of the coaches from South Carolina who is coming to the end of his life while coaching and bringing his team to the super bowl. He said he wasn’t going to waste any time complaining because everyone has to die but he was going to try and die with a super bowl ring. He went on to talk about so many positive things…. Your post reminded me of this interview.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Although I love lots of Irish music I never could stand that guy’s voice! But I agree that it is an optimistic song, and we should always have hope. Preferable to Hank Williams’ view in ‘I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive!’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

