Times flies – One life to live

time flies 2

Is it just me who feels that days are flying by? Or, that a month disappears into another month, another season, another year? How does a lifetime get swallowed up? Aren’t we just living like all the other people? Why do we take risks with our health and with our financial resources? What is it all about?

We live in a world designed for speed, afraid of our own mortality, in a world where the dying get tucked away from our eyes. If we understood that there is only one life to live -that there are no promises as to the length of our lives or an afterlife- would we still squander time? Would we make ourselves ill with thoughts about the past? Would we spend a lifetime trying to scramble to the top of the economic food chain? Would we allow our real-selves to be designated to weekends, or that one-day a month vacation from the overwhelming pressures that demand a certain ideal for success?

Why are we doing this to ourselves?

We are mortal, we will die and there might not be an afterlife. This might be it, this one life that we have been given. One life to make dreams come true; one life to find true happiness within us.

Does one have to be afraid of an afterlife if a life was lived good and well? Is all this studying and reading about God and Gods just the yearning for another chance a do-over, because many fear they wasted what was given to them?

Do we have to fear “judgement day,” if we lived without judging?

It is not the young man who should be considered fortunate but the old man who has lived well, because the young man in his prime wanders much by chance, vacillating in his beliefs, while the old man has docked in the harbor, having safeguarded his true happiness. -Epicurus

Happier by the day – happier by the year. I find aging wonderful and interesting. Days and years seem to pass faster. The worries of the youth have disappeared. I love how I look and how I feel, I wake up with a smile and hum throughout the day.

Big goals became smaller, being is more important than having.

My ship is still at sea, I can see the harbor and it’s a pretty one. I might dock in there one day, or  I might not ever reach it.

In the end it won’t matter, the trip was worth it, the journey is not over -yet.

ship at sea

 

28 thoughts on “Times flies – One life to live

  1. Yes time is flying!! .. Must mean we are enjoying what we do :-).. I remember well the days when the last 20 minutes before clocking off time in the factory would seem like an hour.. 🙂 Making the most of this journey by enjoying this trip.. So My sails are set and my compass is set on course for making the most of this Earth Journey…
    Have a blessed Week my friend <3.. and Lovely post 🙂

  2. I am glad you took the time to write this post and to share it with us. There are many philosophical ideas to think about in your post but I celebrate your appreciation of your place in life at this time.

  3. Every day should be the main event. Because we never know if there will be a tomorrow. “The main event is the journey” – very powerful. Excellent, thoughtful post. Life moves fast. I’ve learned in some tough times that sometimes you live day to day, but some days – the harder ones – you go hour by hour or even minute by minute. I agree with Gerard…full sails ahead!

  4. It was interesting to read this post just after having come back from a 3 hour conversation with a friend about aging. There are no definitive answers, but one thing we all seem to agree on is that time seems to flow through our fingers and we have no idea how much of it we have left.

  5. “Is all this studying and reading about God and Gods just the yearning for another chance a do-over, because many fear they wasted what was given to them?” Boy, I think you nailed it there, Bridget! So many folks, many of whom believe in an afterlife regardless of heir brand of faith, do feel just that way. Truth is, at least for those who cling to the Bible for comfort, Jesus said “the kingdom of God was ALREADY here!” Most “believers” miss that altogether and look forward to that time they can sit on their butts and rest. But what he was saying was to get up and go DO something for someone, for your world, maybe even for yourself. I think when we can look back at our life and see it mattered in some way, then we will have the keys to living a full life. And it’s never to late to start. Great post!

    • Jesus was a good man, if all what is written is true and was indeed said by him and not just copied from Socrates, Plato and Aristotle. How can you resist someone who makes wine out of water, he would be welcome in my house anytime 🙂

      • Not JUST wine, mind you. The story says the BEST wine! Grin. I take the Bible with a grain a salt for the most part. It’s part history books, poetry books, law books, letters, etc. But I don’t feel that way about the four gospels. They are similar on so many points I feel they must be true accounts. Is Jesus just a man or divine? Used to be when I was a kid I would have unhesitatingly said he was the Son of God. As I’ve gotten older, I’m not sure what I believe anymore. Except that I do believe he was a very wise man, trustworthy, and worth emulating. I get a lot of flack from church folks for being honest about that. Just so you know, you’re probably dealing with a heretic here. 😦

      • The Churches in Europe are rather empty, people just don’t believe anymore the way they did decades ago. Here, in the U.S. the churches are full and someone asked me once why I think that is. I think it’s because of our school system and missing education. Kids here don’t learn Latin or study Greek, most of them don’t even know who the Greek philosophers are. America is an island, especially when it comes to education.

        It doesn’t matter to me if you believe in God, Jesus, Santa or the Easter bunny. However, believes are a private matter, everybody can believe or not believe what they want. I find organized religion and churches dangerous, but that’s just my humbled opinion.

  6. Yes, there may indeed be no afterlife. We have to live each day as best we can and stop worrying about death. The Grim Reaper will come for us when he’s ready. Hope your seas stay calm.

  7. “the main event is the journey” .
    …I’m quoting Gerard Oosterman, who adds something merry to the fact of growing older …

    Love you post a lot , totally agree with you, no one would have said it better !

  8. I think it was Mark Twain that said (something like) “Don’t complain about growing old. It’s a privilege denied to many.” I think he also said “Youth is wasted on the young” …. or was that Oscar Wilde? I forget. I’m sure I have it written down somewhere. ^_^

    May you have pleasant seas.

Leave a Reply

