Orchids in Snow

Flowers 008

Whenever I have to say Goodbye to a friend or four-legged family member I go out and buy a plant in their memory, either for the inside or the outside. I have special orchids, rose bushes and blooming trees in memory of loved ones.

We had a lame and boring winter here in Ohio -hardly any snow and the weather was way too warm. It was a surprise, when we woke up to a winter wonderland last weekend.

Two of my special orchids are in full bloom since a couple of week. Normally they start blooming in May and June, but this year everything seems to be a little bit different. The snow outside and the exotic, blooming plants inside -I thought the contrast was worth a few pictures.

 

Contrast

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Orchids in Snow

  1. Your window ledge looks like my orchid table in front of the window complete with the snow outside.. At the moment I have reduced them to four pieces, I once had 20. I have had them blossom again, but more luck than judgement. It is now March, so I am hoping for some results in a month or so. We have had a similar Winter. I have anenomes with buds in the garden and now and again surrounded by snow, although we had a very mild Winter for Switzerland.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love orchids, they are fairly easy to take care of and they bloom for weeks. I don’t like cut flowers, so everybody who knows me buys me either orchids or other blooming plants. You should see my workroom 🙂

      We will have mosquitoes big like elephants this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

