A little spark of madness

fleeting 3

“Please don’t worry so much. Because in the end, none of us have very long on this Earth. Life is fleeting. And if you’re ever distressed, cast your eyes to the summer sky, when the stars are strung across the velvety night, and when shooting star streaks through the blackness, turning night into day, make a wish. Think of me. Make your life spectacular. I know I did.” Jack (1996)

I don’t care about celebrities too much, in my eyes there are people like you and me. I don’t follow the news buzz about who dates who and why they will divorce just a few months later. The most of them don’t interest me at all, but one person -one celebrity- stood out and I noticed how much I loved him, the day he passed away.

Robin Williams, the actor – the comedian – the entertainer. I remember my early days here in the U.S. in the 80’s, when I tried to learn English as fast as I could. There were many TV shows I watched back then, always eager to understand what they were saying. There was a silly show called Mork and Mindy and I thought to myself. “If I will ever be able to understand this guy…that’s the day when I will be fluent.”

It didn’t take too long and I understood what he was saying, not just in Mork and Mindy. I understood what he was saying and I listened to him throughout the years.

The above quote is from the movie Jack. A movie about a kid that grows 4 times faster than the other, his internal clock is ticking faster than usual. A cinematic metaphor, showing us how short life can be. We all spend too much time worrying about little stuff, we stress over things like money and bills. Some of us dwell in the past, others fear the future, many of us forget the here and now.

Life is ultimately very short and it can be over in the blink of an eye. Our time here on this planet is limited, so we should pursue our dreams, while trying to make our mark in the world. Like Jack said: “Make your life spectacular!”

 

Life is fleeting


fleeting

 

Fleeting

12 thoughts on “A little spark of madness

  1. Very poignant… I was devastated when he took his own life. I had just seen he Christmas movie “Noel” for he first time where he played a former priest who was dying. It made it very real and sad for me.

  2. So powerful this post-fleeting is what life is- it seems to speed up as we age too 🙂 making each day count is so important. I was sorry to read about your sister in law- what an awful end. I feel so strongly about each of us choosing to meet death on the terms we want

    • I feel the same way. I always felt strongly about it. It’s my life, my body…why do others feel the need to tell me what I can do or not. Some things just don’t make any sense in my little head.

  3. I do hope I will be given the chance to opt out before I reach the vegetative stage. Surely, medication should not be allowed to dominate just to extend unnecesary suffering. Life should always be worth living.

  4. Pingback: Enjoy it whilst it lasts | Löwland

  5. I recall when he died, how angry I was. I never met the man, I didn’t “know” him personally at all; but like you, he helped shape part of my life. He was so talented and seemed to have so much – both to give and in terms of material possessions and money and fame. Goes to show that all that isn’t worth anything much at the end. I still tend to be touchy about Mr. Williams because I can’t understand why he did what he did and I suspect, this side of heaven, I never will either. And I’ve been in his shoes with chronic depression and one suicide attempt under my belt. For all the reasons you list in your blog, I thank God every day I didn’t succeed. This world and this life is so precious and amazing that to waste it would be hell indeed. Make your life spectacular! Such wise words and I wish Mr. Williams had felt that there was someone like you to listen to him, particularly when the days got really dark. It helps to feel understood, doesn’t it?

    • Robin Williams had a brain disease, a rare form of Dementia. He didn’t have much time left and he more likely would have spend his last months or years in care homes. Funny that you mentioned it, I was angry with him too. I felt like I lost a friend if that makes any sense.

      I watched my Sister in law live in a vegetative state until she was allowed to die…no fun to watch and probably hell to live. I joined the “death with dignity movement” after I had to watch her. I am all for prolonging life, but not for prolonging dead. Many of us fear to be left in a vegetative state, because modern medicine is able to that now.

      Life is precious. Thank you for long comment, I hope my reply won’t upset you.

Leave a Reply

