Aging is Priceless

aging 2

When I was a child I thought I was perfect

I never questioned the way I looked

Then I got older and perfection faded

I started to dislike parts of my body

My feet were too big and I was too tall

I disliked my hair and I hated my freckles

There were curves at the wrong places

I just wasn’t beautiful the way others were

Perfection was out of reach

So many things about me I wanted to change

And then nature came and changed it for me

I got age spots, lines and wrinkles for free

Many my age now pay a high price

To turn back time just a few years

To look like they did then

When they thought they weren’t perfect


I might be an older lady outside, but there is still the kid inside who wishes for wings or a mermaid tail. It took me a while, but I learned to love myself unconditionally and accept the way I look at any age.

Now, in my 50’s, I am old enough to know that I am perfect.

Price

 

11 thoughts on “Aging is Priceless

    • I think everybody around me loves me (or hates me )for who I am not for how I look. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder anyway. How can we love other’s if we don’t really love ourselves?

      • We can’t — at least not very well, though we DO try. And I also think we tend to be way harder on ourselves than we are on others. Then we turn around and hold them up to our own standard. Self-perception is messy, isn’t it…

      • Make a sticky note saying “I love myself unconditionally today” and hang it on your mirror. Say it every morning until you will look yourself in the eye and actually mean it. Try it 🙂

      • You know, I’ve actually come a long way since I started blogging. Meeting people like you and Fimnora and Linda has been so good for me. You are all such great role models. Seems odd to need them still at 64 years old! LOL

Leave a Reply

