Is not voting an option?

APTOPIX Charleston Shooting

“I am going to sit this one out,” that’s a line I have heard often lately. Some of our friends are republicans, but they will not vote for Donald Trump if he indeed will be the republican nominee -and it very much looks like it. 

Interesting enough, I hear the same thing on the other side from democrats who refuse to vote for Hillary Clinton. She wasn’t the most effective campaigner so far, as a matter of fact she almost got derailed by a barely known Bernie Sanders.

“Sitting it out,” means not voting, pretending not to care. Is that the solution?

 

not voting 9

I am a woman and 100 years ago I wouldn’t have been allowed to cast a vote, not in Europe and not here in the U.S.

The 19th Amendment (1920) to the U.S. Constitution granted American women the right to vote—a right known as woman suffrage. At the time the U.S. was founded, its female citizens did not share all of the same rights as men, including the right to vote. (Source Wikipedia).

There are countries in this world, where people fight for the right for a free election, we should never forget that. They are risking their life to have a privilege that we take for granted.

not voting 7

I understand the frustration in this election. People are fed up with the system and feel that they are not heard, especially young people.

not voting 6

This is your future, more than it is mine. Get involved, yes, even if it means just to chose the lesser evil.

not voting

I don’t like the idea of the lesser evil either, not at all. Maybe it helps to look at it as a defensive vote? Like in football, the defense can win a game.

not voting 4

Just a few months ago people reassured me that Trump would never be the nominee. “That’s not how our politics work,” they said and they have been wrong.

Trump’s possible nomination is horrifying for me, it downright scares me. Oh so many have told me now over and over that Hillary Clinton will win by a land slight…but what if they are wrong again?

 

not voting 13

Roosevelt was right. We have a right to vote and we -all of us- should use it, even if we just cast a tactical vote to stop somebody like Trump.

Voting matters…locally and nationally. We can make a difference.

“Choose a leader who will invest in building bridges, not walls. Books, not weapons. Morality, not corruption. Intellectualism and wisdom, not ignorance. Stability, not fear and terror. Peace, not chaos. Love, not hate. Convergence, not segregation. Tolerance, not discrimination. Fairness, not hypocrisy. Substance, not superficiality. Character, not immaturity. Transparency, not secrecy. Justice, not lawlessness. Environmental improvement and preservation, not destruction. Truth, not lies.”
Rise Up and Salute the Sun: The Writings of Suzy Kassem

 

 

33 thoughts on “Is not voting an option?

  1. An important message! I haven’t missed an election since I turned 18. This is a hard-earned right and if more people bothered things could change dramatically! When citizens band together and make their voices heard, things happen. I’ve experienced it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OK, here we go.

    I have heard too many times from friends and family the line ‘voting dosent change anything’
    Now, I love me a conspiracy theory as much as anybody listening to the tiny microphones in my teeth do, but it’s still our responsibility. Our obligation to have a say in who represents us in the world.
    Sadly, the UK is going through some problems with the government, some accusing them of cheating their way into power, overspending on campaign’s that none of their local mps will admit, nor defend against publicly.
    So if it does change something, fantastic.

    To me, the biggest point of change will be the Eu vote.
    If we leave, then voting will change something, due to the sheer outcry of people wanting us to leave the union.
    So if we stay in, like the party wants us to… then sadly I think there will be civil… issues shall we say?

    I wish everyone would vote, just on the off chance that it does work, the system is fair and hey, we get to choose the person.

    Someone once said
    ‘If voting changed anything, it would be illegal’
    And sadly, it’s become the saying of a stoner generation that is the generation with the power to change the situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I often think of what the suffragists sacrificed so that I, a woman, have the right to vote. It’s rare that I’m really enthusiastic about a politician or his/her personality, but I am enthusiastic about voting and participating. The voter turnout in the primaries is always discouragingly low. Trump doesn’t have a mandate. Stopping him wouldn’t have been that hard if more people had voted in the primaries. And it’s not too late.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I agree, I would support that change. But in the meantime, more people could register with a political party in order to vote in the primaries. I understand, and share, dislike of the 2-party system in this country, but it’s not going to be reformed by people who don’t participate in it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Only somewhat around 20 states have open primaries, the others allow only votes from people who are registered with either part.

          42 percent of Americans identify as independent, compared with 29 percent who say they are Democrats and 26 percent who say they are Republicans.

          Like

          • I know these statistics, but my point is that until the 2-party system is reformed, American voters should register with a party, not as Independents. What is the point of registering as an Independent, under the current system? I understand that registering with a party may not 100% accurately reflect someone’s views, but why is that important, if that means they have to sit out the primaries? I once registered as a Republican to vote against a particularly obnoxious Congressional candidate. I thought about doing that for this election too, to vote against Trump, but I decided to stay registered as a Democrat so I could vote for Bernie. Either way, what would I, or the country, gain from my registering as an Independent? It isn’t as if all these registered Independents are helping to change, break down, or reform the 2-party system. They are just shooting themselves, and everyone else, in the foot.

            Liked by 1 person

          • I am very luck, we live in a state where I could vote for Bernie Sanders. You made a good point with your comment. I think many voters are just not comfortable belonging to either party these days. I was a registered voter for a long time, but that changed a few years back when I just didn’t feel that neither the elephant nor the donkey could do anything for me.
            As for Trump, I made numerous posts about him and against him, even way back then when everybody still told me “it couldn’t happen.” I would register in the Mickey Mouse club to block him. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Voting is just one way an individual can have a voice (speaking with your consumer dollars is another and many times more effective in creating change). If one can’t bring one’s self to vote for Clinton or Trump, vote for another party candidate or do a write-in. (as well, as someone else pointed out, there are other candidate races and measures to vote for…it is appalling how few vote in the election years between the presidential races).

    Personally I have to say that if this was any other year, I would have no problem with someone writing in a candidate for president or going with a third party like the Libertarians. As a Sanders supporter, I will vote for Clinton, but if someone said they were going Green Party to voice their protest, I would be fine if the candidate on the other side was Jeb Bush or Mike Huckabee or Ted Cruz (as much as I cringe thinking about them being president). Trump is something entirely different. I believe the hard-core conservatives who say a Trump presidency will usher in a constitutional crisis in this country of the likes we have never seen. Russia has Putin. We will have Trump.

    We toss the word evil around sometimes to the point is has little meaning. This year in the U.S. there is actual narcissistic evil on one of the tickets and his name is Trump.

    Liked by 1 person

      • at the very least Sanders will help produce a more progressive Democratic platform and with Elizabeth Warren in the Senate there will be a strong voice keeping Clinton accountable after she is elected (although Warren can’t do much on the foreign policy front).

        One of the key reasons the Tea Party was able to be effective was not because they could influence Washington D.C., but rather because they put fear into the elected republicans that they would face a primary fight if they failed to go down the right agenda path. The Sanders progressives need to do something similar, keeping up the struggle even though Sanders himself is not the nominee.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I think Sander’s success should show the democratic party that they might shifted too much to the middle. I so admire Elizabeth Warren, she is a fighter and she speaks for me, for all women. I was hoping she would run for president, but then I can see that it wouldn’t be her style. She is not doing it for power.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally wish we could make voting mandatory, but that would be unconstitutional *sigh*. I don’t care who people vote for, so long as they vote for SOMEONE (who isn’t Drumpf). And goddammit, isn’t it tome to get the fossils out of Congress and the House of Representatives? People are constantly complaining about “The System” but do nothing to change it. Voting is the easiest way to change the system, but too few people put their money where their mouth is (or in this case their votes where their mouth is).

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’m pretty sure his name can be written in even if he’s not nominated. Me, I hide in a cave every four years and only know what I research and what leaks through the cracks in my walls. I honestly can’t take the barrage of filth that gets flung around during election years. It’s too depressing and overwhelming. Seriously, it’s like we get collective amnesia every four years and lose our collective mind. I can’t take it. I sneak out on election day and hide again for the next few months until the fall out is over then I’m good for the next three years until it all starts again. The advent of the Internet has just made things exponentially worse.

        Like

        • Politics is a dirty game, always has been, always will be. I watch selectively what I think I need to know. I am a news junkie, so I get a lot of info from what I read here and worldwide. As for the debates, think there are too many and it gets old after a while.

          Like

  6. A few additional things — we can actually write-in who we want to vote for if neither candidate is someone we want. If enough people banded together to vote for a different party it could happen, we have been brainwashed by the whole party system.

    The other thing, is there are several other elections happening as well that honestly are more important than the President, our local representatives. There are many more things on the ballot than the presidential election.

    Liked by 2 people

      • I don’t think it is as important as people think it is. We put way more responsibility on how the Nation is doing on the President rather than the government as a whole. The President is not responsible for providing jobs for everyone, he is not responsible for providing health care for everyone — the President’s job is to enforce the laws set by Congress and protect our National Security. The impetus for change should always come from the people and directed at their local representatives — because they are elected to represent the people. Now the President can help guide and suggest what laws should be created or how they should be modified otherwise threat of veto, but laws should be created by the people for the people.

        Liked by 3 people

        • The President represents us in the rest of the world, I wouldn’t underestimate that. Have you read the word press yesterday? France, Italy, Israel…the headlines were brutal, especially in Europe.
          Somebody like can damage our reputation and offend our alleys by just simply opening his mouth.

          Liked by 3 people

          • I think we are quibbling over semantics here because we both agree people should not stay home. All I am saying is that the people who feel their vote won’t matter and stay home should at least vote anyway because chances are there is something local on the ballot that they just might care about that they wouldn’t know would be there.

            Liked by 2 people

  7. I know exactly how that feels. In Mexico, voters have felt this way for years now, but I can tell you not voting is not an option. I know we would all love to vote enthusiastically for a candidate that we think best represents us, but sadly we don’t always have this option. However, not voting means you’re handing over the decision to someone else. I bet that doesn’t sound so great, right? I don’t know how this election will turn out for the American people, but I hope they all go out and vote in November. Don’t sit this one out. If you do, you’ll regret it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

