It’s not just Bricks

bricks

Once upon a time, there were three bricklayers.

When asked, “What are you doing?” the first bricklayer replied:

“I’m laying bricks.”

The second bricklayer was asked the same question. He answered:

“I’m putting up a wall.”

The third bricklayer, when asked the question “What are you doing?” responded, with pride in his voice:

“I’m building a castle.”

I always liked this analogy, because it says so much about attitude.

We decide if we look at ourselves as just a bricklayer, or if we have the courage and confidence to dream big? Do we see the bigger picture?

Is our job and what we do important, or do we just make a living? The way we approach things in the morning, defines who we are in the evening. I am firm believer of that.

How we look at ourselves is important. Am I just a factory worker, or am I part of a crew that builds beautiful cars? Am I just a housewife, or am I the manager of my family?

Years ago I worked two and three jobs to make ends meet during my college years -we needed the money, they were just jobs.

Then, when I started a career I decided to build a wall -mostly around me. I trapped myself and didn’t really see where I was going.

Somehow over the years, my outlook changed and I decided to build castles. I take pride in my work, regardless if it is at home or in my workroom. Some of my castles are so small that you need a magnifying glass to see them, nevertheless, they are beautiful.

My vision leads the way~!

 

bricks2

Brick

20 thoughts on “It’s not just Bricks

  1. I’ve never heard this analogy before and I really like it. When I was growing up, I was rather grandiose in my thinking and my mother discouraged it in a major way. She considered it being self-important and “putting on airs”.
    I’ve spent my adult life clawing my way back to that boldness of thinking.

    If someone is stuck thinking small, there was likely someone along the way imposing their reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “If someone is stuck thinking small, there was likely someone along the way imposing their reality.” oh my friend you nailed it. I believe that to be true as well. I think doubt is like a weed, it grows small and takes over everything.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. On any paperwork I fill out that asks my occupation I used to put Logistical Manager of Household when I was hauling kids around. Not I put Zookeeper. I sh*t you not!!! People actually laugh and get it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for this analogy; I love this post. Inevitably we hit rough spots in life. However, attitude can have a huge impact on the outcome.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great parable about perspective and attitude. Love it. Even if everyone else thinks all we do is lay bricks or build walls, if we take the approach that we are building castles, there is the potential for happiness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

