BOW NOW!

 

bowing

I walked back to my seat and heard some guys behind me whistling. I had just been in the ladies room, had checked on my makeup and hair and I felt good about myself. That new, long skirt looked good on me, I was glad I had spend that money.

I was just 20 years old and ready to conquer the world. I was out dancing with friends and we just wanted to have a good time and meet new people. It was Friday night, that’s what we did back then. 

It wasn’t until I turned around to get a drink when my friends noticed, that I had stuffed the back of my skirt into my panties. The bathrooms were on the other side of the dancehall. I had walked all the way across, showing everybody much more than I liked.

Now wonder they were whistling. What an embarrassment that was. I turned around and saw some of the guys smiling and laughing, others were lifting up their drinks, like they were cheering. I was hoping the earth would swallow me in that moment, but it didn’t. It never does!

A friend of mine grabbed my hand and lifted my arm up in a winner pose, “BOW NOW and it will all go away,” she said.

Not knowing what to do, I did exactly what she asked me to do. I bowed like actors do at the end of a play and to my surprise; I got applause and more whistles.

It made me laugh, what else was there to do. The rest of the night was rather pleasant. Of course, they made comments, but most of them were much nicer than I had expected. I got a few free drinks and roses as consolation, and many asked me to dance.

That wasn’t the only embarrassing moment in my life, there were others. “Of course I can jump in that boat,” I said and fell in the lake…missed the boat by a mile. Things like that seem to be one of my specialties.

Felling embarrassment once in a while is not such a bad thing.  I might feel like superwoman now and then, until reality comes by and shows me otherwise. These ackward moments, they keep me humbled.

We define our embarrassment in the way we react. We can stay there with rosy cheeks and cry or run away, or we stay there and take it. 

BOW NOW…that was a smart advice. With that, I acknowledged the fact that I had made a total fool out of myself and I showed people that I don’t have a problem with that. We are all just human.

If you are never embaressed, scared or hurt,

it means you never take chances

 

 

Embarrassing

24 thoughts on “BOW NOW!

  1. Your friend’s advice was BRILLIANT!! Why, oh why, didn’t someone give me this advice on handling an embarrassing moment a lifetime ago?!! It would have made more than a few cringe-worthy moments far easier to deal with!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh when you stroll along a snow covered road, feeling really good about yourself and boom you slip on ice… everyone watches of course… or not but it sure feels like it… But of course this is nothing compared to having the skirt stuck up there and showing too much… Made me giggle…

    Like

    • I just noticed that everyone is sharing their experiences. I wore my bathroom to work by mistake under my coat. I took off my coat in the middle of a sea of cubicles and there I was in my blue bathrobe.

      Like

  3. I was taught: be the first to laugh at yourself ….

    Once I didn’t realize there was a glass between the two halves of a shop and went bumping into it , nearly breaking my forehead….
    (Actually I was famous for being very short-sighted…..)

    Love your post and the hilarious way to tell the story!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was once at a business conference. We were form various companies and exactly the same thing happened to a lady that was attending. I really did not know what to do. I did not know her and she did not realise it. Somehow the problem was solved, probably one of her friends told her, This is really not as strange as you would think. I wonder what would we ladies do if someone forgot to zip up. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

