Share your World – 2016 Week 24

 

boarding school

What is the most fun thing you did in school?

Midnight parties! I went to a private school, a Catholic boarding school in Europe and midnight parties were an old tradition. 

It started with the planning. Who brings what and where do we hide it? We smuggled alcohol in our suitcases, cheese, and crackers, jars, and bags of everything that was forbidden. We had candles and a small camping burner. Smuggling it in was easy, hiding it from the nuns eyes that was an almost impossible task. They knew that we would have one of the forbidden midnight parties, they just didn’t know when and where. They searched our cupboards and our nightstands, inspected even our desks in the classroom and looked under out mattresses.

The had success -once in a while- but we were sneaky. My Grandmother made wonderful liquors and wines; I was one of the alcohol smugglers. They never looked in my laundry bag and my gym bag, not in all these years.

The excitement before our midnight party was almost unbearable. None of us slept. At 12 am we got up and cooked hot wine, ate chips and dips, pickled herrings and canned sausages until we were sick. Candles were flickering, and we felt oh so grown up. Twice a year our class filled up the nurses station in the morning; a lot of precious girls had gotten a “bug” just overnight.

I am sitting here smiling while typing this.

What is your favorite type of dog?  (can be anything from a particular breed, a stuffed animal or character in a movie)

My favorite kind of dogs are mutts – mixed breeds, preferably pit bull mixes. As fearful as I was at the beginning, now I am a fan. We own three dogs, two of them are pit bull mixes.

Pit bulls have such a bad reputation, like Shepherds and Rottweilers before them. Many, too many idiots -like Michael Vick- use this beautiful, American breed for dog fights. And of course, they fight, like any dog they will do anything you ask to please the owner. Large breed dogs are a weapon, when in the wrong hands. We should not punish the breed, but the people who abuse and use them.

Our dogs are friends toward humans and animals (besides the neighbors cat) and very playful. A dream dog -when in the right family and in good hands.

Here are some pictures of our clowns.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

Probably not. I don’t like parties anymore -they were fun when we were young; now we rather have cookouts and BBQ or get-togethers with friends. I wouldn’t go without my husband, that’s for sure, we are a package deal.

Complete this sentence:  Never In My Life Have I…

…been more at peace.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am still in awe about my husband. He hasn’t touched a cigarette in 16 days. He put his beloved Zippo lighter on the shelf and declared it a collectible item. I am very grateful that he is not just talking the talk, he is walking the walk. I am always very proud of him, but right now I am a little bit more proud than usual.

Next week is going to be hard. I have two deadlines, and I am already behind on both (like always). So I am looking forward to completing both projects; it’s summer, and I want to spend more time outside.

Please feel free to join Cee’s Share-your-world-challenge. It is fun, click >>>here<<< and the magical online carpet will transport you.

share  your world

 

22 thoughts on “Share your World – 2016 Week 24

  1. I always wondered what it would have been like going to a boarding school. The only “experience” I have with them is through books an movies, and they sound positively frightening to me. But midnight parties sound like fun!

    You’re so right about pit bulls and pit bull mixes. Don’t blame the breed, blame the people who train them (or worse, don’t train them). They’re awesome dogs, as are rotties.

    psst… you should answer my questions… 😛

  2. Lovely shares. The midnight parties sound so classic – I think many of us have done versions of that, but your story is straight out of the movies. Love the mutts and YAY for your husband! I hope it’s getting a little easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

