What the Heck! Too many questions

questions2

Willow, over at Willow’s Corner started to ask questions and invited me to participate. I agreed -not knowing what I would get myself into. Some of the questions are fun to answer; some are private. I wish I could “tag” Cee, Joanne, Lisa, and others. (Hey, guys…get the hint?)

It’s summer, and our readers aren’t as full as they normally are, so it’s a nice challenge. Feel free to participate.

  1. Does jet-lag affect you? No, it doesn’t affect me at all. I stay up for 24 hours and after that, I am so tired that I don’t care where I am.
  2. Are you afraid to walk alone at night? I don’t walk alone; I have at least one 4-legged bodyguard with me.
  3. How did it make you feel the first time you ever held a baby in your arms — yours or someone else’s? It terrified me; the baby was very little..and so was I.
  4. Do you fold your undergarments and socks? Yes, I do. Not so sure why.
  5. Is there a specific place where you go to think? Where is it and why there? I go to my chair aka as the “thinking chair” it works like magic. Not sure if it’s the chair, or the beverage I take with me. Either way, it works like a charm.
  6. How many houseplants do you have? How are they faring?  Too many; I have plants in every room. Orchids in the living room and all kind of “rescue plants” throughout the house. I pick up plants that have been thrown out and I take them home. I buy plants in remembrance for special people.
  7. Do you have a garden — flower or vegetable?  Both
  8. How many hats do you own? Do you wear them all? One, but refuse to wear it; I look like an idiot.
  9. Does your best friend call you their best friend? Yes, both did but used other forms of endearment as well. 🙂
  10. Do you struggle to finish a bad book or do you set it aside forever? Every book gets a fair chance to page 50. If it hasn’t gotten my full attention then, it never will and it goes on the donation pile (let somebody else deal with it) or in the trash. I don’t read self-edited books anymore-learned my lesson since I started blogging.
  11. Have you ever been in a food fight? Yes, with my best friend over ice cream.
  12. Have you ever brought a stray animal home? I don’t bring them home; they follow me, or they just show up. My husband believes we have a sign on our roof that only animals in need can see.
  13. Can a well-written book make you care about their characters enough to cry for them? Only, if it’s a true story.
  14. Have you seen Karma at work in your life? Yes, I have, and it was hilarious.
  15. How do you deliver bad news? I ask people to sit down.
  16. In general, how do you feel when you come home from a long vacation?  Glad to be home but not thrilled about the laundry.
  17. Are book covers important in getting you to read a book? No, but they might make me pick up a book in a store to test read it.
  18. How many shoes do you have? Are there any orphan shoes? Why do you keep them? My husband believes I have too many shoes (I don’t think he knows what he is talking about). I have about 20 pairs of shoes, including seasonal ones. I kept two pairs of high heels, in case I ever want to commit suicide by walking. I have one orphan shoe, the survivor after a puppy attack. I use it for No-No-training now. Ewer
  19. How would you describe your housekeeping strategy? Sight-cleaning during the week; deep cleaning on the weekends. I have a rotating system that seems to work.
  20.  If you could be a superhero, would you take that chance? Only, if I could fly to Krypton -right now and take The Donald with me and leave him there.
  21. If you had the wherewithal to invent something, anything, what would it be?  A little machine, like the floor cleaning gadget that would live under the bushes, and come out to pull the weeds, as soon as they show up. Then it would go back and hide in the bushes. Why hasn’t anybody invented it?
  22. If you had to live for a month on what’s in your refrigerator, would you make it?  I would be okay.
  23. Name something that seemed inconsequential but had a huge influence on your life (for example, a commercial, a postcard, or something you might have overheard). A bag of gummy bears that was given to me by an 8-year old at my 30th birthday party. It brought be down to earth when I needed it.
  24. How do you feel about the idea of Artificial Intelligence? or robots in general? I think they are helping in many ways, but also replace things that shouldn’t be replaced.
  25. What “redneck” (unsophisticated) activity do you like to do? None, I hope.
  26. What (if anything) do you think is beyond the stars? Star Wars?
  27. What are the most common lies your peer group tells? That aging sucks. That’s a lie, made up by whiners and drama queens.
  28. Are there characteristic about yourself that you find annoying in other people? Yes, eye rolling…how dare they? I am the champion.:-)
  29. What do you think of when you think of California? UCLA
  30. Is there a food that is too much work for you to eat? Corn, it’s a waste of time. It comes out as it goes in.
  31. What highbrow, cultured activity do you like to participate in? Theater plays and Opera.
  32. Is there a historical culture that fascinates you? The Greek and the Roman Empire; I studied both for years in school.
  33. What — if any — historical injustice still upsets you? The African colonization by European imperialists and the Holocaust.
  34. Are there habits other people have that you find suspicious? If people can’t look me in the eye; it makes me feel very uneasy.
  35.  What do you think is a good place to travel but you would not want to live there? Traveling to South America is a great experience. So many beautiful countries like Ecuador and Paraguay and the people are so friendly and inviting. I would travel there over and over, but wouldn’t want to life in any of them.
  36. Is there a scary scene from a movie (or book) you viewed a child that still haunts you? Yes, Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Premature Burial” it damaged me for life.
  37. What is the cheapest price you can ever remember paying for gas? 70 cents.
  38. How far south have you traveled? South Africa and South America
  39. When did you realize you’d become an adult? When I had moved away from our farm. I paid my bills, made my decisions –wrong and right. That’s when I realized I had become an adult.
  40. What jokes did your grandparents tell you as a child that you remember fondly? I can’t remember any jokes, just lots of stories.
  41. Is there a piece of technology that you do not own but would like to? A 3-D printer! I would have fun with it in my workshop. “Here Ladies and Gentlemen is your chair; that’s what I am going to do with it…fasten your seat belt.” 🙂
  42.  Do you have any secrets for getting better service? If I want good service I tip up in front, and it works wonders. (Old European trick).
  43.  What slang word or phrase do you love to use? What the Heck?
  44. What technology, real or imagined, scares you? Drones, and the laws that come with it, they scare me.
  45.  Is there a traditional gender role or stereotype that you agree or disagree with? I don’t believe in traditional gender roles, so I do not agree with all of them. However, I do believe there are gender limitations.
  46. What type of commercials to you find particularly annoying? Are there commercials that don’t annoy?
  47. What was the first thing you learned to cook? Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup.
  48. What’s the highest above sea level you’ve ever been? How did you get there? Helicopter skiing in the Alps and hiking with tourists in the Alps. One particular tour I remember when we climbed the “Ortler” – about 12,000’ above sea level.
  49. Is there something that you do now, but wouldn’t do if if weren’t the for the law (for example carry car insurance or wear your seat belt). I would let my dogs run free in the park because they are trained and listen well (mostly). Sadly, they have to be on the leash.
  50. Have you ever tried to touch the moon? I don’t think so; wouldn’t that throw the guy off?
  51. When you have out of town guests, what tourist things do you show them? We drive to the Amish villages; that’s pretty much the only thing here in Ohio that’s worth looking at.
  52. Where is the strangest place you have fallen asleep? On my suitcase at an airport. I was flying standby just waiting for a free seat. Many of us were waiting for 24 hrs we all did it.
  53. Would you be willing to live off the grid(follow link for definition) No, not anymore. I suppose that’s something we all do (and should do) when we are young.
  54. If someone paid you enough money, would you provide them a false alibi? No, I would do it for free (just kidding).
  55. Would you volunteer to be one of the first colonists on Mars? Only with my husband and our dogs.

 

questions

 

 

9 thoughts on “What the Heck! Too many questions

  1. What a fun read! You are quite the character 🙂
    Best line was “I kept two pairs of high heels, in case I ever want to commit suicide by walking”. I’m still laughing 😀

    I couldn’t do any of these questions justice after reading your answers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

