Let’s bake a Salad!

 

Salad cake 5

The 4th of July is just around the corner; there will be get-togethers, picknicks and BBQ’s. What do we provide to eat? What do we bring? I always try to offer a side salad, but somehow it never turns out right. How do you serve a salad for lots of people and make it look good for hours? I made a mixed salad and served it in a big bowl. It looked nice for a while until people started to dig in; tossing and turning, trying to get what they liked -leaving behind a mess that nobody wanted anymore.

Years ago I found a recipe and it solved my problem.  It has been a BIG HIT in my kitchen ever since. I make it the night before, and add the last layer right before I serve it; the salad dressings or the sauce is served on the side.

salad cake 9

Finally a no-guilt treat everybody can enjoy! The recipe is based on salad Niçoise, but that’s just a suggestion. Use the ingredients you like, and make the salad to your taste.

  • 1 Iceberg Lettuce
  • 1 Cucumber, sliced
  • 4 Tomatoes, sliced
  • 3-4 Green onions diced
  • 2 Onions, sliced
  • 6 Hard boiled eggs, sliced
  • 2 Colored peppers, diced
  • 8 oz Ham, diced
  • 4 Radishes, sliced
  • 1-2 Cans Tuna drained
  • 1 Small jar olives (black or green)
  • 8 oz Shredded Mozzarella cheese for the middle
  • Cheddar cheese, sliced for top
  • Decoration (dill, pepper slices, radishes, olives grape tomatoes -or whatever you like)
  • Salad dressing (served on the side)

The cheese slices are the last layer; then you just decorate the “cake” with olives, radishes, sliced eggs and anything that comes to your mind. The possibilities are endless, just use your imagination. It even works as a birthday cake. I hope the pictures are self-explaining.

salad cake 3

I use a standard springform and line the bottom and the sides with lettuce leaves. I use iceberg lettuce, but it works with any other leaf lettuce as well.

salad cake16

  • Prepare the night before,
  • Press the lettuce leaves firmly in the cake ring
  • Layer all the ingredients on top of it
  • Finish with Cheese layer, cover it and cool over night in the fridge
  • Spread the drained tuna on the cheese layer before serving and decorate with olives and radishes

I closed my kitchen blog a year ago when I had to change my diet and I miss sharing recipes. I thought today I make an exception and post one on the Happy Quitter.

Enjoy~!

 

 

32 thoughts on “Let’s bake a Salad!

  1. A great idea. As we are having an election on the second of July, how about a nice baked politicians tart or salad? Make sure they are all well covered with a nice smothering topping, drizzled well with a sharp vinaigrette.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

