Share Your World – 2016 Week #28

dancing in the rain.

What is your earliest memory?

My earliest memory is lots of screaming and yelling, fear and bad smells. It’s not one particular memory, but a blur of many. Both of my parents were violent alcoholics and unfit parents and I spend the first six years of my life with them. 

Interesting enough, over the years it became a memory that put lots of smiles on my face. How lucky have I been that I only spent such a short time with them? Who knows what else could have happened to me, if I would have been forced to stay with them?

As you all know, I cherish and treasure the wonderful childhood that I had with my Grandmother afterwards. Maybe we all need to see evil to appreciate the good more?

What was the last photo you took with your phone?

fabric sample

Oh man, I wish I would have known. I could have taken a goofy selfie (yeah right).

 

I took the last picture an hour ago. It’s a photo of a fabric sample that I think would look good on a customers chair. Now I just have to convince them that it would be much better than the dull velvet that is on there right now (piece of cake).

 

Have you ever danced in the rain?

Yes, I have, and it was rather comical. I went for a walk with our dogs in a  nearby forest, where I can let them run free. I was wearing very comfortable, almost new leather moccasins and a knitted sweater. It was a beautiful spring day, and I enjoyed the stroll.

It started raining when we were half an hour away from the car. It did not just rain; it felt like someone was pouring buckets of water over us, not even the dogs -who love water- were too pleased.

We turned around and about 5 minutes later I noticed that my sweater got heavier and heavier, not just that, it got longer and longer. My shoes, my beautiful new shoes, got wider and wider; it looked like I had tiny little swimming pools on my feet and I had a hard time walking.

The heavy rain slowed down when we finally reached the car. The dogs and I looked pathetic; my beautiful sweater was hanging down on me like a dress; I couldn’t help laughing, opened my arms and started to swirl around.

What is the longest you have gone without sleep?

It was about 36 hours when I was young(er). Back then we could party all night long and all it took was a gallon of coffee in the morning, to sober us up., Then we drove to work and stayed there all day long, went home in the evening like  nothing ever happened. I have no idea how we did it back then; I think we had superpowers or something like that. Today I get cranky if I don’t get enough sleep.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Last week was a tough one. I am grateful that it’s over, does that count?

This week will be a great week (because I said so). We will have a girl’s night out, and I am so looking forward to it. A bunch of old(er)ladies who will order appetizers, desserts and drinks. Nothing beats that, I need that for my soul.

share  your world


Thank you Cee, that was fun like always. Please, click >>>here>>> if you want to participate. It’s a fun challenge!

18 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week #28

  1. Pingback: Share Your World – 2016 Week #28 — The happy Quitter! – wolf4915

Leave a Reply

