I will not apologize – take it or leave it

apology3

I stopped apologizing a long time ago; I stopped apologizing for who I am. Take it or leave it, this is what you get. I am me, and I can’t change it -I don’t want to change it. I happen to like me just fine the way I am.

I often apologized when I was younger, and I never felt comfortable; it just never felt right. I am one of those people who say what they think. I am not rude or hurtful, but I will say what’s on my mind. Don’t ask me what I think, if you can’t handle my answer, don’t force me to lie because you don’t want to hear the truth.

I will not apologize for being me, and I will not apologize for not fitting in -wherever it might be.

I will not apologize for my beliefs or disbeliefs, neither will I apologize for my opinion.

I will not apologize for what I have said -even though I wrong- in that moment it was what I believed.

I will not apologize for being late or early…shit happens.

I will not apologize for my talent or my failures. I tried my best…either way.

I will not apologize for having more than so many. I have been very fortunate, and I try to share and help whenever I can.

I will not apologize for not having enough. I am middle class and just a few steps away from falling off the cliff like so many of us.

I will not apologize for my gender, my color, my sexual orientation or anything else that might bother anybody. It’s not my problem!

I will not apologize for bumping into you; it happened -it wasn’t planned.

 

I am not sorry for being me!

“My life is not an apology, but a life. It is for itself and not for a spectacle. I much prefer that it should be of a lower strain, so it be genuine and equal, than that it should be glittering and unsteady.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson


Apology

13 thoughts on “I will not apologize – take it or leave it

  1. Interesting comment that I feel is meant to motivate oneself, to step forward and move on, rather than live with remorse or regret. I do still here Pardon, used to my part of the world, ( but I don’t hear’pardon me’), but I think we should still use the common apologies, otherwise we might appear insensitive or lacking empathy. I do agree that over use detracts from the sincerity of the words.

    • I don’t apologize, but I do take action. I bake a cake or buy a bunch of flowers after a verbal screw up.

      The phrase, “I beg your pardon,” was often used by me when I learned English, somehow it disappeared and now you just hear, “I am sorry.”

  2. I was going to give the same reply as Joanne. But I like your response too. Apologies are often meaningless and over-used (especially by politicians who don’t change their behavior!). I guess I do both when I can – apologize and then try to learn from it.

  3. I am Canadian. Apologizing seems to be something that we do by instinct.

    I will apologize if I said something wrong even if at the time I believed it to be right. It’s just my way of acknowledging my error.

    I will apologize for being late or early. It acknowledges my respect for other people’s time.

    I will apologize for my failures – especially when I feel like my failure let someone down. It acknowledges my disappointment in failing to do what I said I would do.

    I will apologize if I bump into you. It acknowledges that I didn’t mean to invade your personal space.

    • I think I rather take action then saying “I am sorry.” I show my respect and my love, but I don’t say the words. “I am sorry,” or “Excuse me…” both are overused phrases here in the US. They even say ‘excuse me…’ before they push you to the side. 🙂

      I don’t talk in anger EVER, I walk away, sort my thoughts and speak up later. My temper and my sarcasm could bring me in trouble -I learned my lessons early in life.

Leave a Reply

