Welcome on Board~!

Friend_CarlEllie_handshake

I have noticed some new faces on my blog, and I am thrilled. For me, it’s not about the numbers or statistics, but rather about the new, upcoming interactions I might have with all of you in the future. 

I do wonder what you all know about me. Did you press FOLLOW after you had just read one of my charming and fun posts, or did you decide to read my future rants and vents after I just had blown off some steam?

If you are like me, then you don’t know anything about me, because you don’t read the about pages either. (I do that later, after months of following a blogger -if I don’t forget).

So, I thought today I would introduce myself.

What is there to say about me? Let’s start with my blog first. It’s called “The Happy Quitter” because I started out as a quit smoking blog.  LADYBUG is my nickname, given to me once at a BBQ party when I was crying over the brutal and senseless murder of an innocent ladybug -yes, alcohol was involved. My real name is Bridget! All my friends call me ladybug because me sobbing over a ladybug, entertained them for hours.

I am in my early 50’s, and I have no idea how that happened. The number on paper and the number in my head just don’t match. There is a slight discrepancy of 10 or 15 years. I use the words “menopause”, “age”, and “aging” but I am not there yet. (Well, I am in menopause, but I am not sure how that happened either).

I am married to a wonderful man, who makes me smile every day since 30+ years. We have our moments; there are times when we could strangle each other, but we are happy. It’s his fault that I am here; he proposed and dragged me 3000 miles across the ocean. I am a first generation love-immigrant. I was born and raised right on the border between Austria and Italy. My native language is German (Italian) with a thick Austrian accent. We are childless and owned by dogs.

us

I don’t belong to a political party, neither do I belong to a religious organization or group. I am not a writer, more of a storyteller;  sometimes I even spit out a poem. I blog because it gives me a voice; I read because I like to learn.

My best friend called me a softie who can play hardball, and I suppose she nailed it with that statement. I am unpredictable, and I like it that way. I have various interests and strong opinions -even when I am wrong.  🙂

I am gentle and kind but also brutal and honest. I cry and laugh a lot -silent tears and deep belly laughs would be my trademark. Life threw me some interesting curveballs but has been very good to me overall. I look back at a wonderful life with great lessons, full with memories I treasure. I look forward to many more great moments and I intend to find out all about this AGING THING.

I am happy, and I see things clearer now, and that’s what I write about. I have traveled and seen a lot and share my memories, opinions, the laughter and the tears, the nonsense and the brutal reality. I am a very private person, but share some things about me and our life.

So, welcome to my blog. 🙂

welcome.png

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Welcome on Board~!

  1. Ah, the great mind-over-age struggle. I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that I hit the big 6-0. My mind says I’m in my 30’s and frequently insists my body should follow suit. Luckily, I stay fit and as healthy as possible, and the availability of “Icy Hot” ointment helps with minor aches and pains! Happy to read more about you, Bridget!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What makes you follow a blog? A good question. I do read about pages, quite often after stumbling across a post that I like. But then I tend to forget, getting to know a person through their regular posts. I enjoyed reading this – it was a lovely surprise to meet the person behind the text. Wonderful photo of you both – you do look happy together.

    Like

  3. Bridgette, this was a great idea. I may have to steal it because I have recently got a lot of new followers also. Funny difference between you and I is that I always read the about page first and that is the one that makes me decide if I am going to hit that follow button. A great picture of you and hubby. How is he doing with the not smoking? Last you wrote he was putting on weight because everything tastes so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great idea to do an About Me post every once in awhile. I usually don’t go back and read the about pages until several months of following someone either (if at all). I saw you were the happy Quitter and just thought your blog was about taking care of yourself and saying no to things that don’t matter. I get the age thing. I feel only 35-40 but some mornings my body reminds me otherwise!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

