Long live the Queen -Friday Fictioneers​

wasps

“I don’t like wasps; they are mean.”

“You don’t like them because you don’t know their story.”

“What’s there to know ?”

“At the end of the summer season, wasps return to the nest and die. Only the queen survives, but she never returns to the old nest, probably because of all the dead bodies.  It must weigh heavily on her conscience.”

“They just die?”

“Yes, the worker wasps, the ones that build the nest, they come back and die after their work is done, they know they are not longer needed.”

“Oh, the poor wasps, they deserve so much better.”

(Word Count: 100)


This is my entry to this week’s 100-word Friday Fictioneers. I hope my friends in Great Britain will forgive me the title; I just couldn’t resist.

The Friday Fictioneers are hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Click >>>here<<< and you will be transported to her blog. Why don’t you participate (yes, you) it’s fun.

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Long live the Queen -Friday Fictioneers​

  1. I’ve often wondered why we don’t see more colleges use pesky insects for their school’s mascot. How about the Chattanooga Chiggers or the Tulsa Ticks? Although I have sports teams named after Yellow Jackets, Hornets, and Boll Weevils.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know that! I don’t mind wasps. For a whole summer, they lived in the walls of my writing room. The place actually hummed. They’d fly around over my head and never bothered me. Then the next year they were all gone. Now I know why!

    Like

Leave a Reply

