I Will Never Forget

jeoparize

“Help is on its way,” they had told me, right after the crash had happened. I believed them; I knew they would come for me; there was no doubt in my mind. 

Funny how we trust strangers in the minutes of great despair. A simple car accident had jeopardized my earthly being. My friend, the driver, she had been able to get out -I tried but couldn’t move. I was stuck in the passenger seat, couldn’t open the door, and couldn’t move my legs. 

They came quickly, and they worked fast. I could see them trying to help everybody. A few cars had crashed into each other on the highway, and I was sandwiched in between two of them.  

“Were you scared,” someone asked me later, and I can honestly say that I wasn’t scared at all. I wasn’t hurting, I wasn’t panicking, I was just quietly waiting my turn. Nature prevents us from feeling pain in moments like this, for that I am eternally grateful. I remember the smoke and to this day I don’t like the smell of gasoline. 

“We are getting you out,” he said, and I looked into a stranger’s eyes, and I was wondering why they would do that. Why, would people I have never met risk their lives to help me and others?

It’s their job; it’s as simple as that or not simple at all. Police officers, firefighters, and paramedics, they don’t just do a job, they get up every day, and they are willing to risk their lives for people like me. They don’t expect a medal or a bonus; they just do it because that’s what they do.

I am here today because of these everyday heroes and I will never forget it. Maybe one day I will be able to pay it forward, but deep down I hope it will never happen. I don’t know if I would have it in me. Would I be willing to risk my own life for a stranger? Let’s hope I will never find out.

As for the firemen and police officers who helped me that day. I never had the chance to say THANK YOU and I wish I they could read this post today. I will never forget…maybe that’s even better than just thanking them. 

jeoparize 2

Jeopardize

12 thoughts on “I Will Never Forget

  1. Gosh, this grabbed me. I hope you are OK now and that this was a long time ago. It is less than a week since I rang my daughter about something. She dealt with my question then said, I’ve had a strange morning. She was cycling right behind a cyclist in a smash. She reached him first and held his face together until the ambulance got through rush-hour London (half and hour). He was conscious and apparently not feeling pain. I was so proud of her, I don’t know if I could have coped and acted as she did. She would love to know that he is all right, but there is no way to find out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Our local transport offers a free newspaper everyday. It has a section where people write letters – often thanking the stranger who helped them out of a difficult situation, returned their lost wallet, etc. It’s heart-warming to know that there are others who help, even though it isn’t their job. These situations aren’t necessarily life threatening, but they do show the positive side of human nature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

